Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
Bookseller Picks

Peter Smith

All Things Cease to Appear

All Things Cease to Appear

Elizabeth Brundage

$30.99
ABBEY’S BOOKSELLER PICK ~ This is a solid, satisfying read, the writing is exceptional and the cast of flawed characters keeps you wondering and worrying about them throughout the book. Spread over 20 years and beginning with a violent crime in a remote house that is already haunted by the ghosts of previous owners - this is new sort of crime novel, there is no neat denouement and you are kept guessing as the plot carries you effortlessly along. Peter Smith

———

Upstate New York, 1980s

The farm stood at the foot of the hill. Around it, an aching emptiness of fields and wind. Within, a weight, a sense of being occupied, with more than its inhabitants.

The Clares got it cheap. George knew why, though he didn't let on - he didn't want to give Catherine any excuses. He'd given her an easy excuse to get married. He wasn't prepared to give away much more.

Catherine, at home with their young daughter, has the feeling they're not alone. But she is helped by the Hale boys, young Cole and his brothers. Though they never tell her what happened to their mother in this house

As the seasons burn and then bite, the Clares will find their place in this small upstate community. George, the inscrutable professor; his beautiful, brittle wife. He will try to tame the hollow need inside him. She will pull strength from the friends she makes. And as their marriage splinters, so too does the border between sanity and rage; between this world, and the inexplicable beyond.

With masterful tension and understanding of human nature, Elizabeth Brundage has crafted a novel that is at once a community's landscape spanning twenty years and an intimate portrait of a disturbed mind. This is new American fiction at its most piercing, ambitious and chilling.
Add this item to my basket
The Husband'S Secret

The Husband'S Secret

Liane Moriarty

$14.99
ABBEY’S BOOKSELLER PICK ~ This book has been an enormous success world wide and, having just finished it in a couple of days its easy to see why.  The plot is unusual and devious yet wholly believable.  Cecelia, the devoted mother and successful Tupperwear consultant has discovered a letter from her husband in the attic, -‘To be opened upon my death’.  Should she open it?  The cast of characters are all given real personality and like them or loathe them you will be fascinated and appalled at their antics. Peter Smith

———

The no. 1 New York Times bestseller from the author of Big Little Lies   A staggeringly brilliant novel. It is literally unputdownable.  Mail on Sunday  How well do you know your husband?  Cecilia Fitzpatrick, devoted mother, successful Tupperware business owner and efficient P&C President, has found a letter from her husband.

For my wife, Cecilia Fitzpatrick, to be opened only in the event of my death   But Cecilia's husband isn't dead, he's on a business trip. And when she questions him about it on the phone, Cecilia senses something she hasn't experienced before. John-Paul is lying.

What happens next changes Cecilia's formerly blissful suburban existence forever, and the consequences will be life-changing for the most unexpected people.

PRAISE FOR THE HUSBAND'S SECRET
So good you won't be able to keep it to yourself  USA Today

The story is cleverly plotted, full of suspense and so well-written that it pulls you in from the first page  Sunday Mirror

Dark and compelling, this is a must read  Sun

Intelligent and funny  Sydney Morning Herald

Named one of Entertainment Weekly's Best Books of the Year and People magazine's Top Ten Books of the Year

Fans of Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult and Paula Hawkins will love Liane Moriarty.
Add this item to my basket
Purity

Purity

Jonathan Franzen

$32.99
ABBEY'S CHOICE SEPTEMBER 2015 ----- A huge and fascinating read with a cast of characters that you really care about. Very contemporary with a ‘wikileaks’ type organisation. Drama and humour and a strong story make it a compelling read. Peter Smith

Young Pip Tyler doesn't know who she is. She knows that her real name is Purity, that she's saddled with $130,000 in student debt, that she's squatting with anarchists in Oakland, and that her relationship with her mother - her only family - is hazardous. But she doesn't have a clue who her father is, why her mother chose to live as a recluse with an invented name, or how she'll ever have a normal life. 

Enter the Germans. A glancing encounter with a German peace activist leads Pip to an internship in South America with the Sunlight Project, an organiSation that traffics in all the secrets of the world - including, Pip hopes, the secret of her origins. TSP is the brainchild of Andreas Wolf, a charismatic provocateur who rose to fame in the chaos following the fall of the Berlin Wall. Now on the lam in Bolivia, Andreas is drawn to Pip for reasons she doesn't understand, and the intensity of her response to him upends her conventional ideas of right and wrong. 

Jonathan Franzen's Purity is a grand story of youthful idealism, extreme fidelity, and murder.  The author of The Corrections and Freedom has imagined a world of vividly original characters - Californians and East Germans, good parents and bad parents, journalists and leakers - and he follows their intertwining paths through landscapes as contemporary as the omnipresent Internet and as ancient as the war between the sexes. Purity is the most daring and penetrating book yet by one of the major writers of our time.
Add this item to my basket
           
My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.