PARCEL TRACKING • FLAT RATE AUSTRALIA-WIDE $9.90 (NSW/ACT $7.90) INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

While Paris Slept

Ruth Druart

$22.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

Headline
11 January 2022
On a platform in occupied Paris, a mother whispers goodbye.

It is the end. But also the beginning...

'What a book... Emotional and heartrending...absolutely phenomenal. I was on tenterhooks throughout. A wonderful achievement' Jill Mansell ***THE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER *** Beautiful. Powerful. Unforgettable. A stunning portrait of the brutality of war and the tenacity of love. In the tradition of Virginia Baily's Early One Morning and M. L. Stedman's The Light Between Oceans.

Paris 1944 A young woman's future is torn away in a heartbeat. Herded on to a train bound for Auschwitz, in an act of desperation she entrusts her most precious possession to a stranger. All she has left now is hope.

Santa Cruz 1953 Jean-Luc thought he had left it all behind. The scar on his face a small price to pay for surviving the horrors of Nazi Occupation. Now, he has a new life in California, a family. He never expected the past to come knocking on his door.

On a darkened platform, two destinies become entangled. Their choice will change the future in ways neither could have imagined.

Beginning on an ordinary day and ending on an extraordinary one, WHILE PARIS SLEPT is an unforgettable read.

'Both epic and intimate, this unexpected story had me completely and utterly enraptured. You'll have your heart in your mouth and tears on your cheeks as it reaches its rich, life-affirming conclusion' Louise Candlish 'While Paris Slept made me think and cry and rage and smile at mankind's capacity for both beautiful, selfless love and terrible, heartbreaking cruelty. Prepare to be thoroughly engrossed in this compelling book' Natasha Lester 'What a book, I absolutely loved it. An ingenious plot, wonderful believable characters and it moved me to tears. A fabulous read' Lesley Pearse 'A heartbreaking debut. The novel delves into eternal questions: How far will we go to protect our child? Is love holding tightly or letting go?' Janet Skeslien Charles, author of The Paris Library 'A powerful and poignant debut from a brilliant and bold new novelist.' Imogen Kealey, author of Liberation EARLY 5 STAR READER REVIEWS FOR WHILE PARIS SLEPT...

'This book was beautiful - a book on love and courage demonstrated in different ways, showing that there is no one way to love or be brave. I was unable to stop reading *****' Goodreads reviewer 'For fans of Sophie's Choice and Sarah's Key, While Paris Slept is an atmospheric de
By:  
Imprint:   Headline
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 204mm,  Width: 128mm,  Spine: 36mm
Weight:   354g
ISBN:   9781472267979
ISBN 10:   1472267974
Pages:   512
Publication Date:  
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Ruth Druart grew up on the Isle of Wight, moving away at the age of eighteen to study psychology at Leicester University. She has lived in Paris since 1993, where she has followed a career in teaching. She has recently taken a sabbatical, so that she can follow her dream of writing full-time.

Reviews for While Paris Slept

What a book . . . Emotional and heartrending . . . absolutely phenomenal. I was on tenterhooks throughout. A wonderful achievement -- Jill Mansell Historical fiction fans, rejoice! A new voice has entered the arena and she's one to watch. A heartrending story told from the perspectives of two families living very different lives, it is also one of hope amid tragedy. Perfectly paced and plotted, and evocatively written * Woman & Home * You'll have your heart in your mouth and tears on your cheeks as it reaches its rich, life-affirming conclusion. Both epic and intimate, this unexpected story had me completely and utterly enraptured -- Louise Candlish Brace yourself for a brilliant read. This will tug at your heartstrings * Best * While Paris Slept made me think and cry and rage and smile at mankind's capacity for both beautiful, selfless love and terrible, heartbreaking cruelty. Prepare to be thoroughly engrossed in this compelling book -- Natasha Lester What a book, I absolutely loved it. An ingenious plot, wonderful believable characters and it moved me to tears. A fabulous read -- Lesley Pearse A heartbreaking debut. The novel delves into eternal questions: How far will we go to protect our child? Is love holding tightly or letting go? -- Janet Skeslien Charles, author of The Paris Library A powerful and poignant debut from a brilliant and bold new novelist -- Imogen Kealey, author of Liberation


See Also