DELIVERY AUSTRALIA-WIDE $9.90 (NSW/ACT $7.90) • EXPRESS POST • STORE PICK-UP INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

Way of the Argosi

Sebastien de Castell

$35

Hardback

Not in-store but you can order this
How long will it take?

QTY:

Hot Key Books
04 May 2021
Series: Spellslinger
Ferius Parfax has a simple plan: kill every last inhabitant of the spell-gifted nation that destroyed her people, starting with the man who murdered her parents. Killing mages is a difficult and dangerous business, of course, but when she meets the inimitable and extraordinary Durrall Brown she discovers that physical strength is not the only way to defeat evil of all kinds.

So Ferius undertakes to study the ways of the Argosi: the loosely-knit tribe of tricksters known for getting the better of even the most powerful of spellcasters. But the Argosi have a price for their teachings, and by the time Ferius learns what it is, it may be too late.

Perfect for fans of The Dark Tower, Firefly, Terry Pratchett, Ben Aaronovitch and Jim Butcher.
By:   Sebastien de Castell
Imprint:   Hot Key Books
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 240mm,  Width: 162mm,  Spine: 35mm
Weight:   611g
ISBN:   9781471405525
ISBN 10:   1471405524
Series:   Spellslinger
Pages:   384
Publication Date:   04 May 2021
Recommended Age:   From 12 to 19 years
Audience:   Children/juvenile ,  English as a second language
Format:   Hardback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Sebastien de Castell had just finished a degree in Archaeology when he started work on his first dig. Four hours later he realized how much he actually hated archaeology and left to pursue a very focused career as a musician, ombudsman, interaction designer, fight choreographer, teacher, project manager, actor and product strategist. His only defence against the charge of unbridled dilettantism is that he genuinely likes doing these things and that, in one way or another, each of these fields plays a role in his writing. He sternly resists the accusation of being a Renaissance Man in the hopes that more people will label him that way. Sebastien lives in Vancouver with his lovely wife and two belligerent cats. Follow Sebastien www.decastell.com or on Twitter: @decastell

Reviews for Way of the Argosi

A fun, fast-moving adventure, with surprising depth and insight. Jim C. Hines, Hugo Award-winning author, on Spellslinger An intriguing system of magic, wry humor, and a twisting plot make for an entertaining series debut. Kirkus Reviews on Spellslinger Exotic, original and gripping from the get-go, Spellslinger is a must-read. Jonathan Stroud, New York Times bestselling author, on Spellslinger Told with the conviction of Ursula Le Guin and the dash of Alexandre Dumas. New Statesman on Spellslinger Spellslinger is the start of something truly special. Sebastien de Castell is a master of breakneck pacing, dagger-sharp dialogue, and twists you didn't see coming--and this series has it all. Nicholas Eames, author ofKings of the Wyld onSpellslinger Hugely enjoyable - fast-paced, compassionate, wise and with terrific characters. Amanda Craig, author of Hearts and Minds onSpellslinger A tremendously fun read full of wit and action. James Islington, author of The Shadow of What Was Lost on Spellslinger A bucket-load of tension is offset with humour, power struggles, lots of magic and some great characters. Fantasy junkies will devour with relish. Guardian onSpellslinger Written with such obvious joy and brio that it demands to be read. RJ Barker, author ofAge of Assassins on Spellslinger There's room for wit and playfulness amid the high-stakes duels and death matches, and Kellen's career is likely to run and run. ObserveronSpellslinger We can confidently say that de Castell's new series has hit the ground running. Starburst Magazine on Spellslinger It has cliff hangers, pace, humour, life lessons, and a memorably feisty squirrel cat. Sunday Times onSpellslinger


See Also