SHOP DOORS CLOSED INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

Unorthodox

The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots

Deborah Feldman

$27.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

Simon & Schuster
01 May 2020
Now a Netflix original series!

Unorthodox is the bestselling memoir of a young Jewish woman's escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali's Infidel and Carolyn Jessop's Escape, featuring a new epilogue by the author.

As a member of the strictly religious Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism, Deborah Feldman grew up under a code of relentlessly enforced customs governing everything from what she could wear and to whom she could speak to what she was allowed to read. Yet in spite of her repressive upbringing, Deborah grew into an independent-minded young woman whose stolen moments reading about the empowered literary characters of Jane Austen and Louisa May Alcott helped her to imagine an alternative way of life among the skyscrapers of Manhattan. Trapped as a teenager in a sexually and emotionally dysfunctional marriage to a man she barely knew, the tension between Deborah's desires and her responsibilities as a good Satmar girl grew more explosive until she gave birth at nineteen and realized that, regardless of the obstacles, she would have to forge a path-for herself and her son-to happiness and freedom.

Remarkable and fascinating, this sensitive and memorable coming-of-age story (Pittsburgh Post-Gazette) is one you won't be able to put down.
By:   Deborah Feldman
Imprint:   Simon & Schuster
Country of Publication:   United States
Edition:   Media Tie-In
Dimensions:   Height: 213mm,  Width: 140mm,  Spine: 15mm
Weight:   213g
ISBN:   9781982148201
ISBN 10:   1982148209
Pages:   272
Publication Date:   01 May 2020
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Deborah Feldman was raised in the Satmar Hasidic community in the Williamsburg section of Brooklyn, New York. She lives in Berlin with her son.

Reviews for Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots

A brave, riveting account... Unorthodox is harrowing, yet triumphant. - Jeannette Walls, New York Times bestselling author of The Glass Castle A sensitive and memorable coming-of-age story... Imagine Frank McCourt as a Jewish virgin, and you've got Unorthodox in a nutshell. - Pittsburgh Post-Gazette Compulsively readable, Unorthodox relates a unique coming-of-age story that manages to speak personally to anyone who has ever felt like an outsider in her own life. - School Library Journal It's one of those books you can't put down. - Joan Rivers, in The New York Post An unprecedented view into a Hasidic community that few outsiders ever experience. - Minneapolis Star-Tribune [Feldman's] matter-of-fact style masks some penetrating insights. - The New York Times Eloquent, appealing, and just emotional enough... No doubt girls all over Brooklyn are buying this book, hiding it under their mattresses, reading it after lights out-and contemplating, perhaps for the first time, their own escape. - The Huffington Post Riveting... extraordinary. - Marie Claire


See Also