FREIGHT DELAYS IN AND OUT: MORE INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

Universal Love: Stories

Alexander Weinstein

$22.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

Text Publishing Company
04 February 2020
Fiction & Literature; Short stories
A wonderfully warm and inventive collection from the award-winning and Pushcart Prize-nominated author of Children of the New World.

A boy and his father find music in a drowned city. A lonely twenty-something gets addicted to comfort porn. A man is given a choice to have his trauma surgically removed. A mourning daughter brings her dead mother back to life as a hologram-but the source material isn't quite right.

In these resonant, fantastic stories about the human thirst for connection amid rapid technological advancement, Alexander Weinstein conjures worlds like our own, but rife with the possibilities that our present timeline hasn't led us to-yet.
By:   Alexander Weinstein
Imprint:   Text Publishing Company
Country of Publication:   Australia
Dimensions:   Height: 210mm,  Width: 135mm, 
ISBN:   9781922268549
ISBN 10:   1922268542
Pages:   240
Publication Date:   04 February 2020
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Alexander Weinstein is the director of the Martha's Vineyard Institute of Creative Writing and the author of Children of the New World, which was named a book of the year by the New York Times, NPR, Google and Electric Literature. He is a recipient of a Sustainable Arts Foundation Award, and his fiction has been awarded the Lamar York, Gail Crump, Hamlin Garland, Etching's Whirling and New Millennium Prizes. He is an Associate Professor of Creative Writing at Siena Heights University and lives in Ann Arbor.

Reviews for Universal Love: Stories

'Weinstein is a master of his craft.' * Millions * 'A darkly mesmerising, fearless, and exquisitely written work. Stunning, harrowing, and brilliantly imagined.' * Emily St. John Mandel, author of Station Eleven on Children of the New World * 'These stories are equally unnerving and tender, and a reminder that what we ultimately long for is human connection.' * LitHub * 'In the vein of George Saunders, Rick Bass and Alex Shakar, Weinstein writes with stirring particularity, unfailing sensitivity, and supercharged imagination, creating nuanced stories harbouring a molten core of astutely satirical inquiries.' * Booklist (starred review) *


See Also