LATEST DISCOUNTS & SALES: PROMOTIONS

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

Twice a Quinceañera

Yamile Saied Méndez

$33.95

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

English
Miscellaneous
26 July 2022
"A whimsical romcom from the acclaimed author of the Reese Witherspoon YA Book Club Pick Furia, perfect for fans of The Spanish Love Deception and Josh and Hazel's Guide to Not Dating. An accomplished young woman decides to throw herself a quinceanera (times two) for her 30th birthday after calling off her wedding, but then discovers what it really means to come into her own.

""An enchanting novel overflowing with self-love and second chances.""-Kirkus Reviews

A Cosmopolitan Summer Read You Need | A Goodreads Book to Celebrate Hispanic Heritage Month | A Scary Mommy Summer Book Pick | Bibliolifestyle Books to Read for Hispanic Heritage Month

One month short of her wedding day-and her thirtieth birthday-Nadia Palacio finds herself standing up to her infuriating, cheating fiance for the first time in . . . well, ever. But that same courage doesn't translate to breaking the news to her Argentinian family. She's hyperventilating before facing them when she glimpses a magazine piece about a Latina woman celebrating herself-with a second quinceanera, aka Sweet 15! And that gives Nadia a brilliant idea . . .

With a wedding venue already paid for, and family from all over the world with plane tickets, Nadia is determined to create her own happily-ever-after. Since the math adds up perfectly, she'll celebrate her treintanera, her double quinces. As the first professional in her family, raising a glass to her achievements is the best plan she's had in years. Until she discovers that the man in charge of the venue is none other than her college fling that became far more than a fling. And he looks even more delicious than a three-tiered cake . . .

Full of exuberant heart, Twice a Quinceanera is a pure delight for every woman who needs to be her own biggest fan-and who dreams of a second chance at first love.

""Heartwarming...

A fun, empowering romp."" -Publishers Weekly

""A warm, romantic story."" -Booklist"

By:  
Imprint:   Miscellaneous
Country of Publication:   United States
Dimensions:   Height: 210mm,  Width: 139mm, 
Weight:   369g
ISBN:   9781496737052
ISBN 10:   1496737059
Pages:   320
Publication Date:  
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Yamile (pronounced sha-MEE-lay) Saied Mendez is an Argentinian-American Pura Belpre gold medal-winning author of picture books, middle grade, young adult, and adult fiction. An inaugural Walter Dean Myers Grant recipient, she's a graduate of the Vermont College of Fine Arts and Voices of Our Nations (VONA). Her young adult novel, Furia, was a Reese Witherspoon X Hello Sunshine YA Pick and she's a founding member of Las Musas, a collective of women and nonbinary Latinx creators. Born and raised in Rosario, Argentina-to a family with roots from all over the world-she now lives in Utah with her Puerto Rican husband, five multicultural kids, two bilingual dogs, and one majestic cat. Visit her online at YamileSMendez.com.

Reviews for Twice a Quinceañera

Praise for Twice a Quinceanera [A] ridiculously charming rom-com. -Cosmopolitan A fun and whimsical story. -Hip Latina Mendez's debut adult novel is a love letter to people starting from scratch and an ode to those searching to find their one true love...An enchanting novel overflowing with self-love and second chances. -Kirkus Reviews YA author Mendez (Furia) makes her adult debut with a heartwarming romance centered on personal growth...It's a fun, empowering romp. -Publishers Weekly This second-chance romance is a warm, romantic story made all the more compelling by the focus on Nadia and Marcos learning what they truly want for their lives. The details about what a second quinceanera is all about add to the vivid romance. -Booklist Praise for Yamile Saied Mendez: This book will set your dreams on fire . . . It's fabulous. -Reese Witherspoon on Furia In this stirring novel by Argentine American author Mendez, passion for sports and personal growth intersect in Camila's powerful, feminist first-person narrative about her experiences as an ambitious athlete, a teenager deeply in love, the daughter of an abusive father at the point of taking charge of her own life, and a young woman finding her voice in a deeply sexist, patriarchal society . . . A riveting coming-of-age story. -Kirkus Reviews, STARRED REVIEW on Furia Weaving rich cultural specifics and electric energy into her prose, Mendez crafts a dynamic, feminist narrative that commands attention from the very first line. At its core, this novel is a full-hearted love letter to Argentina and incorrigible girls everywhere, emboldening readers to stand up for themselves and chase the dreams they hold dear. -Publishers Weekly, STARRED REVIEW on Furia An engrossing #OwnVoices novel. -PopSugar on Furia [A] high-energy #OwnVoices novel . . . Written in a relatable first-person perspective. -Booklist on Furia In Furia, Saied Mendez captures both the breathless beauty of futbol and the depth of its political power. Sports intersect with gender, class, race, and identities around the world, and there's still so much ground to be covered in telling the stories that live at these intersections. This novel is a thoughtful, vibrant addition. Camila shows readers that they can have it all, even if it's not exactly as they planned it. She insists girls have every right to dream, to want, to live, and it is a pleasure to watch this character do all three things with love and fury in equal measure. -Chicago Review of Books on Furia Fun, fast, and full of laughs, you've never seen the White House like this! -Ally Carter, New York Times bestselling author of the Gallagher Girls series on Shaking Up the House A delightful story of pranks and misadventures, proving that friendships with rocky starts are often the best friendships of all. -Saadia Faruqi, author of A Place at the Table and the Yasmin series on Shaking Up the House Laugh-out-loud funny and joyously optimistic, Shaking Up the House reminds us that even when things go utterly awry, good-intentioned and caring people can set them right again. Yamile Saied Mendez deftly juggles multiple viewpoints to weave together a timely tale of the power of tradition and friendship. And in these fraught times, the story of two first families coming together in respect and common purpose is a bromide for the soul. -David Bowles, award-winning author of They Call Me Guero and the 13th Street series on Shaking Up the House


See Inside

See Also