LATEST DISCOUNTS & SALES: PROMOTIONS

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

Thunderhead

Miranda Darling

Double Rewards
Signed
$29.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

English
Scribe Publications
03 April 2024
Double Reward Points
Earn $10 Reward Vouchers

A black comedy, set in suburbia, about one woman's struggle to be free.

When Winona Dalloway begins her day – in the peaceful early hours before her children, that 'tiny tornado of little hands and feet', wake up – she doesn't know that by the end of it, everything in her world will have changed.

On the outside, Winona is a seemingly unremarkable young mother – unobtrusive, quietly going about her tasks. But within is a vivid, chaotic self, teeming with voices – a mind both wild and precise.

And meanwhile, a storm is brewing ...

'Darkly funny, astute, timely - Thunderhead's protagonist insists on being heard, and we as readers feel compelled to listen. To care. Such a fresh and lovely voice, full of humour, insight, and energy. I loved Winona - and her story.' -Sofie Laguna

'Thunderhead takes the brewing storm of domesticity and cracks it open with incredible vulnerability, generosity, and humour. At once Rachel Cusk, at once Jenny Offill, and altogether entirely Miranda Darling, this powerful, restless, irresistible novel is essential reading.' -Laura Jean Mckay

'Set over one fever-pitched day ... It's a daring book, adopting the aesthetics of Deborah Levy with the velocity of a crime thriller and an off- kilter voice, deeply internal, darkly comic, clipped and Woolf-ish ... Thunderhead brims with magazine- style musings - all those dizzying top notes, that intertextuality, the style. It's a strong, complex and self-aware voice, and it is the primary vehicle through which we gauge Winona's resilience and determination. If The Catcher in the Rye were instead penned by a domestic violence survivor, it might read a little like Thunderhead. For fans of Melissa Broder, Elizabeth Hardwick and Edwina Preston.' -Mel Fulton, Books+Publishing

By:  
Imprint:   Scribe Publications
Country of Publication:   Australia
Dimensions:   Height: 217mm,  Width: 144mm,  Spine: 20mm
Weight:   334g
ISBN:   9781761380396
ISBN 10:   1761380397
Pages:   160
Publication Date:  
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Miranda Darling is a writer, poet, and co-founder of Vanishing Pictures. She read English and Modern Languages at Oxford then took a Masters in Strategic Studies and Defence from the ANU (GSSD). She became an adjunct scholar at a public policy think tank, specialising in non-traditional security threats. She has published both fiction and nonfiction; Thunderhead is her fifth book.

See Also