Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items



In stock
Ready to ship


Del Rey
23 October 2018
An atmospheric tale of corruption and abduction set on Mars, from the author of the award-winning science fiction novel Altered Carbon, now an exciting new series from Netflix.
From the moment Richard K. Morgan’s dazzling debut, Altered Carbon, burst onto the scene, it was clear that a distinctive new voice had arrived to shake up science fiction. His subsequent novels - including the sequels Broken Angels and Woken Furies - confirmed him as a master of hard-boiled futuristic thrillers. Now Morgan returns to the world of SF noir with a riveting tale of crime, corruption, and deadly crisis on a planet teetering close to the edge.

On a Mars where ruthless corporate interests violently collide with a homegrown independence movement as Earth-based overlords battle for profits and power, Hakan Veil is an ex–professional enforcer equipped with military-grade body tech that’s made him a human killing machine. But he’s had enough of the turbulent red planet, and all he wants is a ticket back home - which is just what he’s offered by the Earth Oversight organization, in exchange for being the bodyguard for an EO investigator. It’s a beyond - easy gig for a heavy hitter like Veil... until it isn’t.

When Veil’s charge, Madison Madekwe, starts looking into the mysterious disappearance of a lottery winner, she stirs up a hornet’s nest of intrigue and murder. And the deeper Veil is drawn into the dangerous game being played, the more long-buried secrets claw their way to the Martian surface. Now it’s the expert assassin on the wrong end of a lethal weapon - as Veil stands targeted by powerful enemies hellbent on taking him down, by any means necessary.
By:   Richard K. Morgan
Imprint:   Del Rey
Dimensions:   Height: 236mm,  Width: 157mm,  Spine: 48mm
Weight:   816g
ISBN:   9780345493125
ISBN 10:   0345493125
Pages:   544
Publication Date:   23 October 2018
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Hardback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Richard K. Morgan is the acclaimed author of The Dark Defiles, The Cold Commands, The Steel Remains, Thirteen, which won the Arthur C. Clarke Award, Woken Furies, Market Forces, winner of the John W. Campbell Award, Broken Angels, and Altered Carbon, a New York Times Notable Book and winner of the Philip K. Dick Award. He lives in England.

Reviews for Thin Air

Praise for Richard K. Morgan's Altered Carbon, winner of the Philip K. Dick Award Compelling . . . immensely entertaining . . . full of duplicitous characters, murky motives, and a detective who's as tough as he looks. --The Philadelphia Inquirer A fascinating trip . . . Pure high-octane science fiction mixes with the classic noir private-eye tale. --Orlando Sentinel Gritty and vivid . . . Looks as if we have another interstellar hero on our hands. --USA Today Ferociously readable. --The New York Times Book Review

See Also