WIN $100 GIFT VOUCHER! TELL ME MORE

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

These Violent Delights

Chloe Gong

$19.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

Hodder & Stoughton
24 November 2020
The brilliantly imaginative New York Times bestselling fantasy retelling of Romeo and Juliet set against the immersive backdrop of 1920s Shanghai.

In glittering Shanghai, a monster awakens . . .

A blood feud between two gangs runs the streets red, leaving the city in the grip of chaos. At its heart is eighteen-year-old Juliette Cai, a former flapper who has returned to assume her role as the proud heir of the Scarlet Gang - a network of criminals far above the law. Their only rivals in power are the White Flowers, who have fought the Scarlets for generations. And behind every move is their heir, Roma Montagov, Juliette's first love . . . and first betrayal.

But when gangsters on both sides show signs of instability culminating in clawing their own throats out, the people start to whisper. Of a contagion, a madness. Of a monster in the shadows. As the deaths stack up, Juliette and Roma must set their guns - and grudges - aside and work together, for if they can't stop this mayhem, then there will be no city left for either to rule.

Filled with romance, intrigue and betrayal, this heart-stopping debut is perfect for fans of The Last Magician and Descendant of the Crane.

'Heady, smart, and vicious' Tessa Gratton, author of The Queens of Innis Lear 'Deliciously dark' Natasha Ngan, New York Times bestselling author of Girls of Paper and Fire 'Dark and beautiful' Emiko Jean, author of Empress of all Seasons 'A terrific, deliciously unputdownable read' June Hur, author of The Silence of Bones
By:   Chloe Gong
Imprint:   Hodder & Stoughton
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 234mm,  Width: 152mm,  Spine: 38mm
Weight:   540g
ISBN:   9781529344554
ISBN 10:   1529344557
Pages:   464
Publication Date:   24 November 2020
Recommended Age:   From 14 years
Audience:   Children/juvenile ,  General/trade ,  English as a second language ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Chloe Gong is a student at the University of Pennsylvania, studying English and international relations. During her breaks, she's either at home in New Zealand or visiting her many relatives in Shanghai. Chloe has been known to mysteriously appear when 'Romeo and Juliet is one of Shakespeare's best plays and doesn't deserve its slander in pop culture' is chanted into a mirror three times. You can find her on Twitter @TheChloeGong or check out her website at TheChloeGong.com.

Reviews for These Violent Delights

Heady, smart, and vicious, These Violent Delights strikes every note with precision, layering romance and politics into a roaring 20s Shanghai of both monsters and monstrous imperialism - Tessa Gratton, author of The Queens of Innis Lear


See Also