Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

Theory Essentials for Today's Musician (Textbook and Workbook Package)

Ralph Turek (University of Akron, USA) Daniel McCarthy (University of Akron, USA)


Mixed media product

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?


22 December 2017
Theory of music & musicology
Theory Essentials for Today's Musician offers a review of music theory that speaks directly and engagingly to modern students. Rooted in the tested pedagogy of Theory for Today's Musician, the authors have distilled and reorganized the concepts from the thirty-three chapters of their original textbook into twenty-one succinct, modular chapters that move from the core elements of harmony to further topics in form and 20th-century music. A broad coverage of topics and musicals styles-including examples drawn from popular music-is organized into four key parts:

Basic Tools Chromatic Harmony Form and Analysis The 20th Century and Beyond Theory Essentials features clear and jargon-free (yet rigorous) explanations appropriate for students at all levels, ensuring comprehension of concepts that are often confusing or obscure. An accompanying workbook provides corresponding exercises, while a companion website presents streaming audio examples. This concise and reorganized all-in-one package-which can be covered in a single semester for a graduate review, or serve as the backbone for a briefer undergraduate survey-provides a comprehensive, flexible foundation in the vital concepts needed to analyze music.

PURCHASING OPTIONS Textbook and Workbook Package (Paperback): 9781138098756 Textbook Only (Hardback): 9781138708815 Textbook Only (Paperback): 9781138708822 Textbook Only (eBook): 9781315201122 Workbook Only (Paperback): 9781138098749 Workbook Only (eBook): 9781315103839 Companion website coming soon!

Until then, please visit the website for Theory for Today's Musician, Second Edition:
By:   Ralph Turek (University of Akron USA), Daniel McCarthy (University of Akron, USA)
Imprint:   Routledge
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 279mm,  Width: 216mm, 
Weight:   1.338kg
ISBN:   9781138098756
ISBN 10:   1138098752
Pages:   480
Publication Date:   22 December 2017
Audience:   College/higher education ,  Primary
Format:   Mixed media product
Publisher's Status:   Active

Ralph Turek is a theorist, composer, author, jazz pianist, Professor Emeritus at The University of Akron, and a veteran of thirty-five years of teaching in the music theory classroom. He is the co-author of Theory for Today's Musician. Daniel McCarthy is a familiar name in contemporary American music. As a composer, he has received distinguished faculty research/creativity awards at Indiana State University and The University of Akron, where he is Chair of the Composition and Theory Section in the School of Music. He is the co-author of Theory for Today's Musician.

See Also