DELIVERY AUSTRALIA-WIDE $9.90 (NSW/ACT $7.90) • EXPRESS POST • STORE PICK-UP INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

The Women of Pearl Island

Polly Crosby

Double Rewards
$29.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

HARPER360
29 September 2021
Double Reward Points
More info

A darkly beautiful dual-timeline novel with a captivating mystery, for fans of Diane Setterfield and Kiran Millwood Hargrave 'Like a surreal cabinet of curiosities - haunting, eerie, evocative' Bridget Collins, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Binding When Tartelin Brown accepts a job with the reclusive Marianne Stourbridge, she finds herself on a wild island with a mysterious history.

Tartelin is tasked with hunting butterflies for Marianne's research. But she quickly uncovers something far more intriguing than the curious creatures that inhabit the landscape.

Because the island and Marianne share a remarkable history, and what happened all those years ago has left its scars, and some terrible secrets.

As Tartelin pieces together Marianne's connection to the island, she must confront her own reasons for being there. Can the two women finally face up to the painful memories that bind them so tightly to the past?

Atmospheric and deeply emotional, The Unravelling is the captivating novel from the author of The Illustrated Child.
By:   Polly Crosby
Imprint:   HARPER360
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 234mm,  Width: 153mm,  Spine: 25mm
Weight:   270g
ISBN:   9780008497439
ISBN 10:   0008497435
Pages:   400
Publication Date:   29 September 2021
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Polly Crosby lives in Norfolk with her husband and son, and her very loud and much-loved Oriental rescue cat, Dali. To find out more about Polly's writing, please visit pollycrosby.com. Polly can also be found on Twitter as @WriterPolly.

Reviews for The Women of Pearl Island

'Polly Crosby whips up a lush, mythical world . . . realised beautifully in vivid writing. A book worm's treat!' Eve Chase, author of The Glass House 'A beautifully written tale of butterflies, secrets and silk' Sonia Velton, author of Blackberry and Wild Rose 'Dreamy image after image, The Unravelling is like a series of beautiful paintings' Sara Sheridan, author of The Fair Botanists 'Utterly transporting. Polly Crosby plunges us into a hauntingly beautiful landscape with complex and compelling characters, luring us in with her original plot and her elegant prose. A wonderful read' Annabel Abbs, author of Frieda: The Original Lady Chatterley 'Mysterious and suspenseful, The Unravelling is a story of visceral beauty and the transformations life undergoes to survive. Crosby writes with all the intricate and entrancing artistry of a butterfly's wings' A. J. Gnuse, author of The Girl in the Walls 'Polly Crosby is a skilled storyteller, drawing the reader in with a fascinating tale that spools out across two timelines, leading to a dramatic and satisfying finale. She brings the setting of the island to life with weird and wonderful detail that will keep you enthralled' Elizabeth Lee, author of Cunning Women


See Also