CHRISTMAS Orders: We suggest IN-STOCK items only! • AUSTRALIA-WIDE $9.90 (NSW/ACT $7.90) INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

The Wolf and the Woodsman

Ava Reid

$32.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

Voyager
17 August 2021
A dark, evocative fantasy debut steeped in Hungarian folklore, perfect for fans of Naomi Novik, Katherine Arden and Laini Taylor.

A dark, evocative and unforgettable fantasy debut steeped in Hungarian history and Jewish mythology, perfect for fans of Naomi Novik and Katherine Arden. ______________________________________ Stories don't have to be true to be real...

In her forest-veiled pagan village, vike is the only woman without power, making her an outcast clearly abandoned by the gods. When soldiers arrive from the Holy Order of Woodsmen to claim a pagan girl for the king's blood sacrifice, vike is betrayed by her fellow villagers and surrendered.

But when monsters attack the Woodsmen and their captive en route, slaughtering everyone but vike and the cold, one-eyed captain, they have no choice but to rely on each other. Except he's no ordinary Woodsman - he's the disgraced prince, Gaspar Barany, whose father needs pagan magic to consolidate his power. Gaspar fears that his cruelly zealous brother plans to seize the throne and instigate a violent reign that would damn the pagans and the Yehuli alike. As the son of a reviled foreign queen, Gaspar understands what it's like to be an outcast, and he and vike make a tenuous pact to stop his brother.

As their mission takes them from the bitter northern tundra to the smog-choked capital, their mutual loathing slowly turns to affection, bound by a shared history of alienation and oppression. However, trust can easily turn to betrayal, and as vike reconnects with her estranged father and discovers her own hidden magic, she and Gaspar need to decide whose side they're on, and what they're willing to give up for a nation that never cared for them at all. ______________________________________ 'Assured and compelling throughout, and the worldbuilding is richly imagined, densely textured, and endlessly delightful.' Katherine Addison, author of The Goblin Emperor 'Reid has crafted a story that is not only relevant for our times, but has timelessness about it that truly makes it shine. The Wolf and the Woodsman is not a book I will soon forget.' Genevieve Gornichec, author of The Witch's Heart 'Combining religion, magic, and evocative language, Ava Reid has created a daring fantasy world full of imagination and fierce heroics' Luanne G. Smith, bestselling author of The Vine Witch 'The Wolf and The Woodsman is one hell of a ride. I couldn't put it down.' Greta Kelly, author of The Frozen Crown 'One of those transportative, delicious books that completely engrossed me for a full day.' Samantha Rajaram, Author of The Company Daughters
By:   Ava Reid
Imprint:   Voyager
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 215mm,  Width: 135mm,  Spine: 34mm
Weight:   429g
ISBN:   9781529100747
ISBN 10:   1529100747
Pages:   448
Publication Date:   17 August 2021
Audience:   General/trade ,  College/higher education ,  Professional and scholarly ,  ELT Advanced ,  Primary
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Ava Reid was born in Manhattan and raised right across the Hudson River in Hoboken, but currently lives in Palo Alto, where the weather is too sunny and the people are too friendly. She has a degree in political science from Barnard College, focusing on religion and ethnonationalism. The Wolf and the Woodsman is her debut novel.

Reviews for The Wolf and the Woodsman

Combining religion, magic, and evocative language, Ava Reid has created a daring fantasy world full of imagination and fierce heroics. * Luanne G. Smith, bestselling author of The Vine Witch * Evike may be the only one in her village without 'powers,' but that doesn't stop her from being an in-your-face heroine who stands up for the things she believes in and never backs down. Reid has crafted a story that is not only relevant for our times, but has timelessness about it that truly makes it shine. The Wolf and the Woodsman is not a book I will soon forget. * Genevieve Gornichec, author of The Witch's Heart * Beautiful and gut wrenching . . . It's a fundamentally Jewish tale that gripped me from beginning to end. A riveting debut that will keep you up all night, desperately chasing the heart-pounding conclusion. * Victoria Lee, author of The Fever King * Gorgeously written and grimly real, The Wolf and the Woodsman is a bloody fable about two people caught in the jaws of history. It quite literally took my breath away. It has the unsettling-but-compelling gore of Henderson's The Year of the Witching, the folkloric lilt of The Bear and the Nightingale, and the moral complexity of Seeing Like a State. I'm obsessed. * Alix E. Harrow, Hugo-award winning author of The Ten Thousand Doors of January * Rooted in history and myth, The Wolf and the Woodsman is a stunning debut - a powerful and haunting tale of a young woman's will to live, of love flowering in defiance of tyranny. It will twine like a dark forest around your heart. * Samantha Shannon, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Priory of the Orange Tree *


See Also