OUR ONLINE STORE IS OPEN, but... MORE INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

The Winter Agent

Gareth Rubin

$32.99

Paperback

Forthcoming
Pre-Order now

QTY:

MICHAEL JOSEPH
02 June 2020
Fiction & Literature; Espionage & spy thriller; Second World War fiction; Historical fiction
January, 1944. A bitter winter grips occupied France, where Marc Reece leads an SOE circuit facing deadly risks, operating in secret to sabotage the German war effort.

But Marc has a second mission, secret from even his fellow agents - including Charlotte, the woman with whom he has ill-advisedly fallen in love. Everyone knows that D-Day is coming, and that the hours following the Allied landings will decide the war - and every last scrap of information he can provide might make all the difference in the fate of the western world.

But when the circuit is ambushed - with deadly consequences - Marc realises there may be a spy in their ranks, putting at risk everything they've been fighting for.

Then Charlotte goes missing. Marc faces an awful question - is she in peril, or has he been betrayed by the only woman he was sure he could trust? And if he risks everything in order to find her, what will become of his mission, and of the lives that depend on it?

Gripping and atmospheric, this is the story of a man operating in the darkest of circumstances, and the unimaginable sacrifices war demands of those who fight it.
By:   Gareth Rubin
Imprint:   MICHAEL JOSEPH
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 234mm,  Width: 153mm, 
ISBN:   9780718187125
ISBN 10:   0718187121
Pages:   400
Publication Date:   02 June 2020
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Forthcoming

Gareth Rubin is an author and journalist who has written for most British national newspapers. He lives in London, and The Winter Agent is his second novel.

Reviews for The Winter Agent

In the great tradition of SS-GB and Fatherland, Rubin's alternative-1950s murder mystery takes an ingenious premise - the Americans and the Soviets have carved up Britain between them after rescuing the country from the Nazis - and makes it come alive through sheer storytelling skill * Jake Kerridge * A gripping murder mystery set in an alternative 1950s Britain. Rubin's London, split between American and Soviet zones after a disastrous World War Two, is vividly realised and his story is elegantly constructed. One not to miss * William Ryan, author of The Constant Soldier * Rubin constructs a tantalising alternative world with 1950s Britain riven apart by its own version of the Berlin Wall - and all because the D-Day landings failed. Against this dystopian nightmare, the author overlays a murder mystery that's sure to appeal to fans of SS-GB, The Man in the High Castle, and Fatherland * David Young, CWA Dagger-winning author of Stasi Child * A twisting murder mystery combined with a chillingly plausible alternative history of a divided Cold War London. Brilliant * Mason Cross, Richard and Judy bestselling author of The Samaritan * A tight and compelling thriller * SFX * An interesting take on the 'What if we'd lost World War II?' debate. A gripping and well-imagined yarn * Sun * (A) richly imagined thriller . . . Tightly plotted, tense and set in a chillingly plausible world * Sunday Mirror * Far more than an intellectual exercise - it is a gripping story, with heart * Daily Telegraph, Best Thrillers of the Year * Praise for Liberation Square * - *


See Also