Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

facebook
Google Book Preview
True Queen
— —
Zen Cho
True Queen by Zen Cho at Abbey's Bookshop,

True Queen

Zen Cho


9781509801107

Macmillan


Fiction & Literature;
Fantasy;
Historical fiction


Paperback

416 pages

$29.99
In stock
Ready to ship
order qty:  
Add this item to my basket

Fairyland's future lies in doubt...

The island of Janda Baik, in the Malay archipelago, has long been home to witches. And Muna and her sister Satki wake on its shores under a curse - which has stolen away their memories. Satki plots to banish it in London, as Britain's Sorceress Royal dares to train female magicians. But the pair journey there via the Fairy Queen's realm, where Satki disappears.

Distraught, Muna takes her sister's place at the school, despite her troublesome lack of magic. Then the Sorceress receives an ambassador from the Fairy Court, which has incarcerated her friends - for supposedly stealing a powerful talisman. Their Queen is at her most dangerous, fearing for her throne. For the missing trinket contained the magic of her usurped sister, Fairyland's rightful heir. Mina must somehow find Satki, break their curse and stay out of trouble. But if the true queen does finally return, trouble may find her first...

The True Queen is Zen Cho's spelling binding second book, following her award-winning The Sorcerer to the Crown. This standalone is set in that same wonderful Regency world with a fairy tale twist.

PRAISE FOR THE TRUE QUEEN Totally immersive, an utterly enjoyable experience. Here East, West and the Realm of Fairy meet: three vivid and vastly different societies steeped in the paradox of belonging and alienation. A story full of humour, heartbreak, and hope ? Cho captivates once more Karen Lord, author of The Best of All Possible Worlds A joyous mash-up of Jane Austen and high fantasy M. R. Carey, author of The Girl with All the Gifts intricate, inventive and joyful. What a five-star treat! Vic James, author of the Dark Gifts trilogy A sheer delight from beginning to end. Cho perfectly conjures the opulence, absurdity and conflict of the period, and her magical societies are so wholly interwoven with history that you'll start to believe there really was a Sorceress Royal - and that centuries ago, you really could travel through Fairyland from one side of the world to the other Samantha Shannon, author of The Bone Season series.

By:   Zen Cho
Imprint:   Macmillan
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 234mm,  Width: 153mm, 
ISBN:   9781509801107
ISBN 10:   1509801103
Series:   Sorcerer to the Crown novels
Pages:   416
Publication Date:   March 2019
Recommended Age:   From 18 years
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Zen Cho was born and raised in Malaysia and now lives in Birmingham. She was a finalist for the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer for her short fiction and won the Crawford Award. Her debut novel, Sorcerer to the Crown, won the 2016 British Fantasy Society Award for Best Newcomer.


A winning combination of magic and thrill -- <b><i>Washington Post </i>on<i> Sorcerer to the Crown </i></b> A thumping good read -- <b><i>Independent</i> on <i>Sorcerer to the Crown </i></b> Like a mix of Jane Austen, PG Wodehouse, and Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell, and all its own thing. Glorious -- <b>Aliette de Bodard on <i>Sorcerer to the Crown </i></b> A delightful and enchanting novel that uses sly wit and assured style to subvert expectations while it always, unfailingly, entertains. I loved it! -- <b>Kate Elliott on <i>Sorcerer to the Crown </i></b> Sorcerer to the Crown is fast-paced and witty, and should appeal to fans of Mary Robinette Kowal and Gail Carriger -- <b>Elizabeth Bear on <i>Sorcerer to the Crown</i></b> Fabulous! If you like Austen or Patrick O'Brian, or magic and humor like Susannah Clarke, or simply a very fun read, you will really, really, enjoy this -- <b>Ann Leckie on <i>The Sorcerer to the Crown</i></b> An enchanting cross between Georgette Heyer and Susannah Clarke, full of delights and surprises. Zen Cho unpins the edges of the canvas and throws them wide -- <b>Naomi Novik on <i>The Sorcerer to the Crown</i></b> A captivating debut . . . tells an entertaining story with wit and consummate skill -- <b><i>Guardian</i> on <i>The Sorcere</i><i>r to the Crown</i></b>

My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.