FREIGHT DELAYS IN AND OUT: MORE INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

The True Bastards (#2 Lot Lands)

Jonathan French

$22.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

Orbit Books
09 October 2019
Fantasy; Epic Fantasy; Sword & Sorcery; Mythological Creatures, People & Places; Mercenaries Fantasy
Series: The Lot Lands
'AN ADDICTIVELY READABLE - AND UNDENIABLY COOL - FANTASY MASTERWORK' Kirkus on THE GREY BASTARDS Following the runaway success of Jonathan French's critically acclaimed fantasy adventure THE GREY BASTARDS comes book two in the LOT LANDS series - THE TRUE BASTARDS.

LEAD FROM THE SADDLE. DARE TO SURVIVE.

Fetching was once the only female rider in the Lot Lands. Now she is the leader of her own hoof, a band of loyal half-orcs sworn to her command. But in the year since she took power, the True Bastards have struggled to survive. Tested to the breaking point by the burdens of leadership, Fetching battles desperately to stave off famine, desertion and the scorn of the other half-orc chieftains, even as orcs and humans alike threaten the Lots' very existence. Then an old enemy finds a way to strike at her from beyond the grave - and suddenly only one faint hope for salvation remains.

A standout adventure fantasy debut that's down, dirty and damn good fun - perfect for fans of Joe Abercombie, Mark Lawrence, Markus Heitz's DWARVES series and Stan Nicholl's ORCS series Praise for THE GREY BASTARDS:

'Flithy, charistmastic and frankly excellent' Mark Lawrence 'A gritty adventure with a fantastic, foul-mouthed voice . . . Fans of Abercrombie's the First Law . . . will like this a lot' Django Wexler 'A bloody good tale of battle, betrayal and war pigs' Brian McClellan 'Jonathan French has to be lauded for his plot ingenuity, bawdry charm and vicious characters. The Grey Bastards has instantaneously catapulted him into my must-read list' Fantasy Book Critic 'I'd like to raise a tankard to THE GREY BASTARDS' brilliance' Fantasy Faction BRING ON THE ORCS . . .
By:   Jonathan French
Imprint:   Orbit Books
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 196mm,  Width: 126mm,  Spine: 44mm
Weight:   420g
ISBN:   9780356511665
ISBN 10:   0356511669
Series:   The Lot Lands
Pages:   592
Publication Date:   09 October 2019
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Jonathan French resides in Atlanta with his wife, son, and cat. He is a devoted reader of comic books, an expert thrower of oddly-shaped dice and a serial con attendee.

Reviews for The True Bastards (#2 Lot Lands)

I f*cking loved this book. The Grey Bastards went down like a shot of good top-shelf tequila: warm and smooth, but with one hell of a spicy kick * Bibliosanctum * It's a wild ride on the hog, filled with brutality, battle, and bravery. It's coarse and crass and also loveable, and after this, I have high hopes for what French might do in the future * Biblitropic * This is a filthy book, but it is a damn good one * Pornokitsch * A funny thing happens when reading The Grey Bastards. You're rolling along, smiling at the novelties on display, but then, almost without warning, you find yourself truly in the world French has created, and it all becomes wonderfully familiar and convincing. The world-building creates exactly the kind of seamless transition that makes fantasy literature compelling, informative, and just plain fun * R.A. Salvatore, New York Times bestselling author * The Grey Bastards is a book that I just absolutely fell in love with . . . Because of this author's unique vision and his incredible talent, this one left a mark on me. I want more * Bookworm Blues * I'd like to raise a tankard to The Grey Bastards' brilliance * Fantasy Faction * French flips the fantasy script as the monsters become the good guys, fueling an action-packed, sneakily smart adventure. Half-orc and all badass, Jackal is a hero you won't soon forget * Scott Sigler, New York Times bestselling author of Alive and Infected * The Grey Bastards dragged me in immediately. A bloody good tale of battles, intrigue, betrayal, duty and frickin' war pigs * Brian McClellan * Jonathan French has to be lauded for his plot ingenuity, bawdry charm and vicious characters. The Grey Bastards has instantaneously catapulted him into my must-read list * Fantasy Book Critic * A gritty adventure with a fantastic, foul-mouthed voice and filthy, lovable characters in a wonderfully original world of half-orcs on giant hogs. Fans of Abercrombie's THE FIRST LAW or the soldierly banter of Erikson's MALAZAN BOOK OF THE FALLEN will like this a lot * Django Wexler * A filthy, charismatic and frankly excellent read * Mark Lawrence * An addictively readable - and undeniably cool - fantasy masterwork * Kirkus *


See Also