Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

facebook
Google Book Preview
Tangled Lands
— —
Paolo Bacigalupi Tobias S. Buckell
Tangled Lands by Paolo Bacigalupi at Abbey's Bookshop,

Tangled Lands

Paolo Bacigalupi Tobias S. Buckell


9781788544771

Head of Zeus


Fantasy


Paperback

304 pages

$19.99
In stock
Ready to ship
order qty:  
Add this item to my basket

The city of Khaim is surrounded by a land crippled by the use of magic, and a tyrant intent on rebuilding an empire - unless the people find a way to resist.

From two award-winning SFF authors, a new fantasy novel about a land crippled by the use of magic.

For fans of Ken Liu and Gene Wolfe.

Khaim, the last city of a once-great empire, clings to life.

This is a world poisoned by its addiction to magic . Every time a spell is cast, toxic bramble sprouts, bursting forth from tilled fields, thrusting up from between cobblestones. A bit of magic, and bramble follows until whole cities are consumed by tangling vines . Armies hack and burn... yet in a world that can't give up magic's sweet succour, the bramble can't be stopped . When Jeoz the alchemist discovers a potent new weapon to wield against the bramble, his invention promises Khaim freedom from fear and starvation . But these are twisted times and the bramble is not the only corruption that blights the land .

'Pulses with the siren call of power, the throb of remorse and dreams of redemption' Daily Mail . 'Exploring themes of power, corruption, greed and thwarted hope, the authors deliver an absorbing and sensitive fantasy' Guardian .

By:   Paolo Bacigalupi, Tobias S. Buckell
Imprint:   Head of Zeus
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 198mm,  Width: 129mm, 
ISBN:   9781788544771
ISBN 10:   1788544773
Pages:   304
Publication Date:   January 2019
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Paolo Bacigalupi is the bestselling author of The Windup Girl. Tobias Buckell is the bestselling author of Halo: The Cole Protocol. Between them, they have either won or been nominated for the Locus, Hugo, Nebula, Compton Crook, and John W. Campbell awards.


'A story cycle of high life and low, woven by two authors at the top of their game' Daily Mail. 'An absorbing and sensitive fantasy' Guardian. 'A fascinating exercise in world-building; each story within the wider structure offering an explanation of a different part of Khaim' SciFiNow. 'The Tangled Lands has no right to be as good as it is. Conceptual, morally ambiguous, and incredibly timely, [it] explores well-wrought narratives of feminism and environmental justice in a beautifully crafted fantasy world that drips with rich lore and details at every turn' The Oberlin Review. 'The two writers do a wonderful job of maintaining the same style, creating a coherent, rounded world peopled with imperfect, believable characters ... [it] is well worth the investment' SFX, featured book.

My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.