Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

The Story Orchestra

Peter and the Wolf

Jessica Courtney Tickle Jessica Courtney Tickle

Double Rewards


In stock
Ready to ship


Frances Lincoln Publisher
07 May 2024
Double Reward Points
Earn $10 Reward Vouchers

Introduce little ones to the magic of classical music with this reimagining of one of legendary composer Prokofiev's most famous suites.

Peter and the Wolf is a story about a young boy called Peter who lives with his grandfather. His grandfather warns him about being outside because a wolf roams the woods. However, when the wolf threatens Peter's animal friends - a duck, a bird and his grandfather's cat - he decides to ignore his grandfather's warning and save them. As you and your child journey through the magical scenes, read the story text in each circle aloud and press the buttons on each page to activate the sounds! This encourages interactive learning via an immersive experience. The soothing natural scenes are illustrated impeccably, with sweeping greenery and orange, summery landscapes spreads across each page.

Follow the adventurous Peter as he explores the woods for the first time. And this lovely book tells a sweet story while also introducing kids to the power and beauty of classical music. At the back of the book, find a short biography of the composer, Sergei Prokofiev, with details about his composition of Peter and the Wolf.

Next to this, you can replay the musical excerpts and, for each of them, read a discussion of the instruments, rhythms and musical techniques that make them so powerful. A glossary defines musical terms.

The Story Orchestra series brings classical music to life for children through illustrated retellings of classic ballet, opera and program music stories paired with 10-second sound clips of orchestras playing from their musical scores. Also available in the Story Orchestra series: Four Seasons in One Day, The Nutcracker, The Sleeping Beauty, Swan Lake, Carnival of the Animals, The Magic Flute, In the Hall of the Mountain King, I Can Play (vol 1) and The Planets.

Illustrated by:   Jessica Courtney Tickle
Imprint:   Frances Lincoln Publisher
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 265mm,  Width: 304mm, 
Weight:   500g
ISBN:   9780711294172
ISBN 10:   0711294178
Series:   The Story Orchestra
Pages:   24
Publication Date:  
Recommended Age:   From 5 to 8 years
Audience:   Children/juvenile ,  English as a second language
Format:   Hardback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Jessica Courtney Tickle is an illustrator who graduated from Kingston University in July 2014. Her absolute favourite thing to draw or paint is nature, finding a focus on foliage of any kind as well as childrens stories about adventure and exploration. She also has a penchant for drawing theatre, from music makers to dancers and even singing animals. Jessica is most influenced by vintage picture books, travel posters and folk art as well as numerous painters and printmakers.

See Also