AUSTRALIA-WIDE LOW FLAT RATE $9.90

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

The Spellshop

Sarah Beth Durst

Double Rewards
$34.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

English
St Martins/Tor
09 July 2024
Double Reward Points
Earn $10 Reward Vouchers

Perfect for fans of Travis Baldree and TJ Klune, The Spellshop by Sarah Beth Durst is a cosy fantasy tale full of stolen spellbooks, unexpected friendships, sweet jams and even sweeter romance.

'Sarah Beth Durst is the hidden gem of the fantasy world' - Book Riot

Every home needs a little magic . . .

Kiela has always had trouble dealing with people, and as librarian at the Great Library of Alyssium, she hasn't had to.

She and her assistant, Caz, a sentient spider plant, have spent most of the last eleven years sequestered among the empire's precious spellbooks, protecting the magic for the city's elite. But a revolution is brewing and when the library goes up in flames, Kiela and Caz steal whatever books they can and flee to the faraway island where she grew up. But to her dismay, in addition to a nosy - and very handsome - neighbour, she finds the town in disarray.

The empire has slowly been draining power from the island, and now Kiela is determined to make things right. But opening up her own spellshop comes with its own risks - the consequence of sharing magic with commoners is death. And as Kiela starts to make a place for herself among the townspeople, she realizes she must break down the walls she has kept so high . . .

From award-winning author Sarah Beth Durst, The Spellshop is a cottagecore cosy fantasy following a woman's unexpected journey through the low-stakes market of illegal spell-selling and the high-risk business of starting over.
By:  
Imprint:   St Martins/Tor
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 234mm,  Width: 153mm,  Spine: 30mm
Weight:   472g
ISBN:   9781035042333
ISBN 10:   1035042339
Pages:   384
Publication Date:  
Recommended Age:   From 18 years
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active
Author Website:   http://www.sarahbethdurst.com/

Sarah Beth Durst is the award-winning author of more than twenty books for kids, teens, and adults, including Spark, Drink Slay Love and The Queens of Renthia series. She won an American Library Association Alex Award and a Mythopoeic Fantasy Award and has been a finalist for SFWA's Andre Norton Nebula Award three times. She is a graduate of Princeton University and lives in Stony Brook, New York with her husband, her children and her ill-mannered cat. The Spellshop is her debut adult cosy fantasy. Visit her at sarahbethdurst.com.

Reviews for The Spellshop

A fairy tale nightmare, and a romance all in one, unlike anything else and impossible to predict. I could not stop reading! -- Laini Taylor, author of <i>Strange the Dreamer</i> on <i>Conjured</i> Witty and wonderful! I'm a Durst fan and have been from the beginning -- Tamora Pierce, author of the Beka Cooper series National Velvet with monsters and a big helping of palace intrigue, Race the Sands is monstrous (literally), heartwarming, and empowering in equal measure. An incredibly fun and inspiring read -- Katherine Arden, author of <i>The Bear and The Nightingale</i> on <i>Race the Sands</i> Sarah Beth Durst is one of the most prolific authors I know, yet each of her beautiful stories is infused with exciting action and fully rounded characters whose struggles are both relatable and fantastical -- Peter V. Brett, author of The Demon Cycle Durst is an expert world-builder -- <i>The Washington Post</i> Sarah Beth Durst is the hidden gem of the fantasy world -- <i>Book Riot</i>


See Also