Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

The Society of Time

The Original Trilogy and Other Stories

John Brunner Mike Ashley



In stock
Ready to ship


British Library
01 October 2021
Don Miguel Navarro lives in Britain - a Britain which failed to repel the Spanish Armada invasion. He is part of the Society of Time, an organisation which polices the improper use of time travel, and which is galvanised into action when an ancient relic from a parallel time's South America is spotted on the black market. In three fascinating and ground-breaking novellas, John Brunner weaves an ingenious tale of a divergent and compelling timeline, and poses complex questions of how we perceive the fourth dimension and its relation to our own identity. When collected previously the three original Society of Time stories were abridged. Here, 'The Spoils of Yesterday', 'The Word Not Written' and 'The Fullness of Time' are reprinted in full, along with the two mesmerising Brunner novellas 'The Analysts' and 'Father of Lies'.
Introduction by:  
Imprint:   British Library
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 190mm,  Width: 130mm, 
ISBN:   9780712353823
ISBN 10:   0712353828
Series:   British Library Science Fiction Classics
Pages:   288
Publication Date:  
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

John Brunner (1934-1995) was a prolific author of novels and short stories, predominantly in the genre of science fiction. Known today for his novels, which include the Hugo Award-winning Stand on Zanzibar and The Sheep Look Up, some of Brunner's finest work appeared in novella form in science fiction magazines, and has, until now, been out of print.

See Also