MAY'S BIG RELEASES DOUBLE REWARDS

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

$14.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

Bloomsbury
30 March 2021
Gafferty Sprout is a Smidgen. A Smidgen looks like a human, sounds like a human, and loves chips with curry sauce like a human - if humans were three inches tall. If you took a human and shrunk it in the washing machine on a very hot spin cycle, you might get something like a Smidgen. Generations ago there were lots of them, living in a maze of tunnels beneath the human village of Dundoodle. But then something happened and they just ... disappeared. Now Gafferty, her parents and her little brothers Gobkin and Grub are the only ones left, and the tunnels are forbidden territory.

And then Gafferty finds an old map. A map that shows a place deep within the maze where Smidgen tribes can go to meet. Smidgen tribes! Gafferty knows that she has to try to find them. But the tunnels are dangerous. And soon Gafferty discovers she's not the only one looking for the lost tribes, and that three inches of Smidgen hold more power than she ever imagined.

The first book in a funny, magical adventures series for 7+ readers who love Terry Pratchett, Max and the Millions and The Borrowers.
By:   David O'Connell
Illustrated by:   Seb Burnett
Imprint:   Bloomsbury
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 198mm,  Width: 129mm, 
Weight:   168g
ISBN:   9781526607768
ISBN 10:   152660776X
Pages:   208
Publication Date:   30 March 2021
Recommended Age:   From 7 to 12 years
Audience:   Children/juvenile ,  Children / Juvenile
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

David O'Connell is a writer and illustrator from South London. He works mostly in children's books (particularly humorous picture books and young fiction), writing for other illustrators or illustrating for other writers! He likes stories about magic and monsters, especially if they're silly monsters, and loves making comics too. His favourite sweets are fizzy cola bottles. Teemu Juhani is a Finnish illustrator, comic artist and graphic designer whose illustrations have been published in picture books and children's fiction in Finland, UK, US and China. Originally from the fields and woods of North Karelia, Teemu now lives and works in Helsinki.

Reviews for The Smidgens

If you put your copy of Harry Potter and Charlie and the Chocolate Factory in the washing machine together, this would be the book that came out at the end. Don't put books in the washing machine though ... * Tom Fletcher on THE CHOCOLATE FACTORY GHOST * Humour pervades every page, with jokes appearing at the perfect place and with fabulous timing * Bookbag on THE CHOCOLATE FACTORY GHOST * A thoroughly satisfying and entertaining story, a mix of adventure, comedy and magic ... Delicious! * Books for Keeps on THE CHOCOLATE FACTORY GHOST * A 21st century take on The Borrowers, albeit much funnier [...] There is SO much to love about this terrific adventure story. David snares the reader's attention from the outset and keeps you on the edge of your seat throughout; along with the tension, there's humour and charm, wonderful characterisation, and such clever disguises ... Bring on the second story * Red Reading Hub *


See Also