THE BIG SALE IS ON! TELL ME MORE

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

The Silverblood Promise

#1 Last Legacy

James Logan

Double Rewards
$34.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

English
Jo Fletcher Books
30 April 2024
Series: Last Legacy
Double Reward Points
Earn $10 Reward Vouchers

'A fast-paced carnival of setbacks and skullduggery that reminds me of... me! Charming from the first twist to the last' Scott Lynch, author of THE LIES OF LOCKE LAMORA
The first in an

extraordinary new fantasy epic, perfect for fans of Nicholas Eames and James Islington!

Lukan Gardova is a cardsharp, academy dropout, and - thanks to a duel that ended badly - the disgraced heir to an ancient noble house. His life consists of cheap wine, rigged card games and wondering how he might win back the life he threw away.

When Lukan discovers that his estranged father has been murdered in strange circumstances, he finds fresh purpose. Deprived of his chance to make amends for his mistakes, he vows to unravel the mystery behind his father's death.

His search for answers leads him to Saphrona, fabled city of merchant princes, where anything can be bought if one has the coin. Lukan only seeks the truth, but instead he finds danger and secrets in every shadow.

For in Saphrona, everything has a price - and the price of truth is the deadliest of all.

Readers love The Silverblood Promise

'The characters are beyond great' 5-star reader review

'Logan is a writer to watch' 5-star reader review

'Fantastic start to what is promising to be a spectacular series' 5-star reader review

By:  
Imprint:   Jo Fletcher Books
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 232mm,  Width: 154mm,  Spine: 48mm
Weight:   720g
ISBN:   9781529432817
ISBN 10:   1529432812
Series:   Last Legacy
Pages:   608
Publication Date:  
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

James Logan was born in the southeast of England and grew up on a steady diet of classic 80s cartoons and Commodore 64 computer games. The impulse purchase of a Fighting Fantasy gamebook forged a love of all things fantastical, which later led to a career in genre publishing. James lives and works in London.

Reviews for The Silverblood Promise (#1 Last Legacy)

The Silverblood Promise is a fast-paced, addicting read chock full of action, adventure, and good, old-fashioned skullduggery! A fascinating world filled with ancient magic, unspeakable monsters, and political corruption sets the stage for a twisting, high-stakes mystery and a lovable cast of thieves, rogues, and assassins. You'll get sucked in by the world and the story's intrigue, but you'll stay for the wit, humor, and heart found in each character. Fans of Lynch's The Lies of Locke Lamora, Jackson Bennett's Foundryside, or Netflix's Arcane will find plenty to love in these pages. * MJ Kuhn, author of THICK AS THIEVES * A fun, fast-paced debut - an engaging and action-packed fantasy read. * James Islington, author of THE SHADOW OF WHAT WAS LOST * The first volume of this sure-to-be-stellar series is a ribald, swashbuckling tale of treacheries, lies, and characters as gritty and cutthroat as anyone you'd meet in a tavern at midnight. Don't miss these first steps into an epic world-one I can't wait to tread again. * James Rollins, author of THE STARLESS CROWN * Readers will find lots to love in this intrigue-filled dash through the upper and lower echelons of a well painted fantasy city. Enough grit to make you flinch, enough heart to make you punch the air, this book will have dark fantasy lovers burning through the pages. Everything that's good about modern fantasy is here and I expect readers will flock to it. * Ed McDonald, author of Blackwing * Heartfelt and grim heroic fantasy with a snarky twist - perfect for fans of Scott Lynch * Peter McLean, author of PRIEST OF BONES * An engrossing fantasy romp full of endearing characters, The Silverblood Promise is full of unexpected twists and turns, and an optimistic spirit. Relentlessly entertaining, defiantly idealistic, it's a daring debut filled to the brim with classic fantasy fun. * Sebastien de Castell, author of TRAITOR'S BLADE * A fast-paced carnival of setbacks and skullduggery that reminds me of... me! Charming from the first twist to the last * Scott Lynch, athor of THE LIES OF LOCKE LAMORA * Everything about this swashbuckling adventure is sharp and secretive, and the pages fly by with every nail-biting gambit. It's a murder mystery in an epic fantasy setting, and Lukan's loose tongue and quick wits repeatedly get him into and out of trouble. The endearing characters, with their easy banter, dry humor, and defiant spirits, are the heart and soul of this novel * Library Journal (starred review) * A riveting fantasy mystery with wit, charm, engaging characters, quick banter and rich worldbuilding. In Lukan and Flea, James has created one of those character pairings you hurry back to hang out with. Get on it! * Justin Lee Anderson, author of THE LOST WAR * Logan's writing is evocative and his worldbuilding strong...Logan's debut is proof of a grand new entry among the ranks of epic fantasy and I cannot wait for more people to read this and enjoy its imperfect but lovable characters and rich worldbuilding... if lots of aggravated heroes, strong women, mysteries aplenty, stealth and thieves, bustling fantasy cities, and dangerous creatures, are of your liking, then I warmly recommend you preorder this as soon as possible! * Fan Fi Addict *


See Also