Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

The Silent Woman

Sylvia Plath And Ted Hughes

Janet Malcolm



In stock
Ready to ship


Granta Books
28 April 2020
Biography; Biography: literary; Literary studies: from c 1900 -; Literary studies: poetry & poets
Series: Granta Editions
Is it ever possible to know 'the truth' about Sylvia Plath and her marriage to Ted Hughes, which ended with her suicide? In The Silent Woman, Janet Malcolm (author of Reading Chekhov, The Journalist and the Murderer and In the Freud Archives) examines the biographies of Sylvia Plath, with particular focus on Anne Stevenson's Bitter Fame, to discover how Plath became an enigma in literary history. The Silent Woman is a brilliant, elegantly reasoned inquiry into the nature of biography, dispelling our innocence as readers, as well as shedding a light onto why Plath's legend continues to exert such a hold on our imaginations.
By:   Janet Malcolm
Imprint:   Granta Books
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 197mm,  Width: 130mm,  Spine: 17mm
Weight:   230g
ISBN:   9781783786237
ISBN 10:   178378623X
Series:   Granta Editions
Pages:   224
Publication Date:   28 April 2020
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Janet Malcolm's books include Reading Chekhov, In the Freud Archives, The Silent Woman: Sylvia Plath and Ted Hughes and Psychoanalysis: The Impossible Profession. Born in Prague, she grew up in New York, where she now lives.

See Also