MAY'S BIG RELEASES DOUBLE REWARDS

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

The Silence

Susan Allott

$29.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

HARPER360
01 May 2020
Longlisted for the New Blood Dagger Award 2021 'A darkly gripping and addictive read. I tore through it in a few days' ESTHER FREUD 'Deeply engrossing ... an exquisite literary thriller' PHILIPPA EAST 'Emotionally wrenching' WALL STREET JOURNAL 'Impossible to put down' TREVOR WOOD A missing woman 30 years ago, in the suffocating heat of a Sydney summer, the Greens' next-door neighbour Mandy disappeared without a trace.

A cold case reopened In 1997, in a basement flat in Hackney, Isla Green is awakened by a call in the middle of the night: her father is under suspicion of Mandy's murder.

A devastating secret How well does Isla know her father? Is he capable of doing something terrible? And is there another secret in their community - a conspiracy of silence which stretches deep into Australia's past?

------------------------------ 'An atmospheric, convincing portrayal of the way that the decisions we make, both individually and collectively, reverberate down the years' GUARDIAN 'Allott uses the scandal of Australia's stolen children to devastating effect in this memorable debut' SUNDAY TIMES 'A riveting mystery, beautifully unwound. The Silence excavates dark, decades-old secrets buried in human hearts, in families and in nations. I read it in one weekend' ERIN KELLY 'An impressive and beautifully written, Australian-set debut with the devastating subject of the Stolen Generation at its core' FIONA MITCHELL 'Tense, atmospheric and brilliantly paced. The Silence is fraught with disturbing secrets and powerful emotions. I loved it' FRANCESCA JAKOBI 'A brooding, suspenseful debut' SUNDAY MIRROR 'A suspenseful, beautifully crafted debut for fans of Celeste Ng and Jane Harper' TELEGRAPH AUSTRALIA 'Intricate and suspenseful... [a] stellar debut' NEW YORK JOURNAL OF BOOKS
By:   Susan Allott
Imprint:   HARPER360
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 234mm,  Width: 153mm, 
Weight:   270g
ISBN:   9780008389772
ISBN 10:   0008389772
Pages:   300
Publication Date:   01 May 2020
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Susan Allott is from the UK but spent part of her twenties in Australia, desperately homesick but trying to make Sydney her home. In 2016 she completed the Faber Academy course, during which she started writing this novel. She now lives in south London with her two children and her very Australian husband.

Reviews for The Silence

'Emotionally wrenching' WALL STREET JOURNAL 'A suspenseful, beautifully crafted debut for fans of Celeste Ng and Jane Harper' TELEGRAPH AUSTRALIA 'Intricate and suspenseful... [a] stellar debut' NEW YORK JOURNAL OF BOOKS 'A riveting mystery, beautifully unwound. The Silence excavates dark, decades-old secrets buried in human hearts, in families and in nations. I read it in one weekend' ERIN KELLY 'A darkly gripping and addictive read. I tore through it in a few days' ESTHER FREUD 'Deeply engrossing ... an exquisite literary thriller' PHILIPPA EAST, author of Little White Lies 'An impressive and beautifully written, Australian-set debut with the devastating subject of the Stolen Generation at its core' FIONA MITCHELL, author of The Swap 'Tense, atmospheric and brilliantly paced. The Silence is fraught with disturbing secrets and powerful emotions. I loved it' FRANCESCA JAKOBI, author of Bitter 'A suspense-filled story set in Australia, highlighting the effects of an official policy that has haunted generations. Allott's prose builds an incredibly convincing portrayal of the destruction caused by dysfunctional relationships. A fantastic debut' NIKKI SMITH, author of All in Her Head 'A brooding, suspenseful debut' THE SUNDAY MIRROR 'Allott uses the scandal of Australia's stolen children to devastating effect in this memorable debut.' SUNDAY TIMES 'An atmospheric, convincing portrayal of the way that the decisions we make, both individually and collectively, reverberate down the years.' THE GUARDIAN 'An unsettling portrayal of unhappy marriage, alcohol abuse and a dark chapter of history, with a plot that grips like an anaconda' SAGA MAGAZINE 'a compelling and powerful read. Susan Allott is a writer to watch.'- HOOKED FROM PAGE ONE


See Also