Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

Google Book Preview
The Shirley Hughes Collection
— —
Shirley Hughes Shirley Hughes
The Shirley Hughes Collection by Shirley Hughes at Abbey's Bookshop,

The Shirley Hughes Collection

Shirley Hughes Shirley Hughes Shirley Hughes


Bodley Head

Children's & Educational;
Anthologies (Children's&YA)


352 pages

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
order qty:  
Add this item to my basket

Shirley Hughes is one of the best known and most popular creator's of children's books, and her keen observation of family life have earned her a special place in the hearts of children and adults.

Beginning with a selection of simple rhymes and stories and moving on to some of Shirley's classic picture books featuring such well-loved characters as Dogger, Alfie and Anne Rose.

There's also a selection of stories for older readers including 'THE LION AND THE UNICORN' and 'ENCHANTMENT IN THE GARDEN', which combine satisfyingly longer texts with marvellous expansive pictures.

By:   Shirley Hughes
Illustrated by:   Shirley Hughes, Shirley Hughes
Imprint:   Bodley Head
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 272mm,  Width: 230mm,  Spine: 29mm
Weight:   1.622kg
ISBN:   9780370326825
ISBN 10:   0370326822
Pages:   352
Publication Date:   October 2000
Recommended Age:   From 5
Audience:   Children/juvenile ,  5-7 years ,  English as a second language
Format:   Hardback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Shirley was born in West Kirby, near Liverpool, and studied fashion and dress design at Liverpool Art School, before continuing her studies at the Ruskin School of Drawing and Fine Art in Oxford. She then embarked on a career as a freelance illustrator in London, where she still lives today. She illustrated other writers' work, including Noel Streatfeild, Alison Uttley, Ian Seraillier, Margaret Mahy and notably Dorothy Edwards's My Naughty Little Sister series. hirley began to write and draw her own picture books when her children were young. Her first book - Lucy and Tom's Day - was published in 1960, and she followed it with, among others, Dogger and the Alfie series. hirley Hughes has won the Other Award, the Eleanor Farjeon Award, and the Kate Greenaway Medal for Illustration twice, for Dogger in 1977 and for Ella's Big Chance in 2003. In 2007 Dogger was voted the public's favourite Greenaway winner of all time. Shirley received an OBE in 1999 for services to Children's Literature.

Hughes is a much loved and respected children's author, famous for the quality and appeal of her stories and the beauty of her illustrations. This collection caters for children of all ages and can be enjoyed and shared by the whole family. Leaping through the pages are stories, rhymes, poems and even cartoons. There are old and new characters, the ever-popular Alfie and Naughty Little Sister share space with newly published material. The 'Nursery Years' and 'Young Children' sections contain lots of captivating pictures that small children will identify with and the stories and rhymes are interactive which will hold their attention. The language is simple and lively but manages to convey effectively some useful messages about manners and kindness, without preaching. 'Mudlarks' is a joy while 'Lucy and Tom at the Seaside' is a touchingly nostalgic snapshot that is so perfect, most readers will feel it could have been written just for them. The author delights in reliving the fun and thrill of youthful adventures in action-packed tales. There are evocative and sensuous poems to conjure up the world as seen through the eyes of a young child. The stories for 'Older Children' and for 'All to enjoy' are more sophisticated but lose none of the charm and appeal of the earlier sections. A book to keep and treasure, to share with children and grandchildren. An absolute classic. (Kirkus UK)

My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.