MAY'S BIG RELEASES DOUBLE REWARDS

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

The Sentient

Fiction Without Frontiers

Nadia Afifi

$26.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

Miscellaneous
01 October 2020
Amira Valdez is a brilliant neuroscientist trying to put her past on a religious compound behind her. But when she's assigned to a controversial cloning project, her dreams of working in space are placed in jeopardy. Using her talents as a reader of memories, Amira uncovers a conspiracy to stop the creation of the first human clone at all costs. As she unravels the mystery, Amira navigates a dangerous world populated by anti-cloning militants, scientists with hidden agendas, and a mysterious New Age movement. In the process, Amira uncovers an even darker secret, one that forces her to confront her own past. AUTHOR: Nadia Afifi is an Arab American science fiction author who lives in Denver, Colorado. Although born in the United States, she grew up in Saudi Arabia and Bahrain before returning to Missouri for college. From an early age, she knew she wanted to be a writer, but having two scientists as parents also instilled a love of speculative fiction. Her experiences in the Middle East and her multicultural upbringing have driven the stories she wants to tell, by exploring present-day issues such as women's rights, religion and cultural identities through a futuristic lens. Her father is a Saudi geologist of Palestinian descent, while her mother is an American geologist from St. Louis, Missouri.
By:   Nadia Afifi
Imprint:   Miscellaneous
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Edition:   New edition
Dimensions:   Height: 198mm,  Width: 130mm,  Spine: 18mm
ISBN:   9781787584334
ISBN 10:   178758433X
Series:   Fiction Without Frontiers
Pages:   304
Publication Date:   01 October 2020
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Unspecified

Nadia Afifi is an Arab American science fiction author who lives in Denver, Colorado. Although born in the United States, she grew up in Saudi Arabia and Bahrain before returning to Missouri for college. From an early age, she knew she wanted to be a writer, but having two scientists as parents also instilled a love of speculative fiction. Her experiences in the Middle East and her multicultural upbringing have driven the stories she wants to tell, by exploring present-day issues such as women's rights, religion and cultural identities through a futuristic lens. Her father is a Saudi geologist of Palestinian descent, while her mother is an American geologist from St. Louis, Missouri. She attained a Bachelor's in Journalism, followed by an MBA, from the University of Missouri and currently works for the Department of Veterans Affairs by supporting new projects to improve the agency's healthcare systems. While working for the VA, she began her first novel, The Sentient. She has also written several short stories, including Exhibit K , which recently featured in Abyss and Apex magazine.

Reviews for The Sentient (Fiction Without Frontiers)

Afifi's staggering and un-put-downable debut offers a fresh and feminist-forward take on cloning [...] This riveting debut is a must-have for any sci-fi fan. Afifi's first novel is a science fiction noir [...] The worldbuilding is a particular strength, as every locale feels well-realized and lived-in. This is an excellent book for fans of Mira Grant and Michael Crichton, or readers who love a thrilling narrative and welcome moral and philosophical questions in their science fiction. Nadia Afifi is a brand-new voice, and one you should become familiar with [...] Exciting, mesmerizing, and full of cutting-edge science, 'The Sentient' is an excellent beginning to what's sure to be a successful career. -- Analog Science Fiction & Fact Honestly, this book was big on character, big on plot, and a well written science fiction piece, all good things I love as a bookworm and a scientist! -- The Nerd Daily A piece of ethical excellency, a cry of freedom, and a thought-provoking debut is what Nadia Afifi has delivered for those who love to plunge into the gray morality of stories, as well as the riveting explorations of science fiction and the theory of the multiverse. -- Bookwyrm's Guide to the Galaxy


See Also