OUR ONLINE STORE IS OPEN, but... MORE INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

The Recovery of Rose Gold: The page-turning psychological thriller

Stephanie Wrobel

$32.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

MICHAEL JOSEPH
17 March 2020
Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Crime & mystery; Thriller & suspense
Rose Gold Watts believed she was sick for eighteen years.

She thought she needed the feeding tube, the surgeries, the wheelchair . . .

Turns out her mum, Patty, is a really good liar.

After five years in prison Patty Watts is finally free. All she wants is to put old grievances behind her, reconcile with her daughter - and care for her new infant grandson. When Rose Gold agrees to have Patty move in, it seems their relationship is truly on the mend.

But Rose Gold knows her mother. Patty won't rest until she has her daughter back under her thumb. Which is inconvenient because Rose Gold wants to be free of Patty. Forever.

Only one Watts will get what she wants.

Will it be Patty or Rose Gold?

Mother, or daughter?
By:   Stephanie Wrobel
Imprint:   MICHAEL JOSEPH
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 234mm,  Width: 153mm,  Spine: 25mm
Weight:   457g
ISBN:   9780241416082
ISBN 10:   0241416086
Pages:   352
Publication Date:   17 March 2020
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Stephanie Wrobel grew up in Chicago but has been living in the UK for the last three years with her husband and dog, Moose Barwinkle. She has an MFA from Emerson College, has had short fiction published in Bellevue Literary Review, and was nominated for the 2018 PEN/Robert J. Dau Short Story Prize for Emerging Writers. Before turning to fiction, she worked as a creative copywriter at various advertising agencies.

Reviews for The Recovery of Rose Gold: The page-turning psychological thriller

Sinister and chilling . . . The writing flows beautifully and I felt like each character was confiding in me, trusting me with their secrets. I loved every bit of this thrilling story and the ending was brilliant and perfect. It's an amazing debut looking at the tangled web of a controlling mother/daughter relationship and a must read in my opinion * NB Magazine * Wrobel has crafted two gloriously complex characters who will swing the reader between horrified disbelief and empathy in the turn of a single page. Wrobel uses witty writing and clever plotting to ensure the reader will fly through the pages in search of the truth. It takes profound skill to craft such a twisty and darkly entertaining read, and Wrobel does it in her debut as deftly as only the best thriller writers can do * Amy Stuart, #1 bestselling author of Still Mine and Still Water * More than a page-turner-although it's undoubtably that - The Recovery of Rose Gold plumbs the depths of this poisoned mother-daughter relationship, asking probing questions about why we all hurt the ones we love. An explosive debut from a thrilling new voice * Kirsten Chen, author of Bury What We Cannot Take * An original, stunning debut! Masterful crafting of a split time-frame and utterly compelling characters will hook readers from the very first page until they finally learn the truth hiding within this chilling mother-daughter relationship. An intelligent, beguiling read that should be at the top of every reader's list * Wendy Walker * Two extraordinary narrators drive the nail-biting action in this sensational, compulsively readable debut. A tour de force of captivating psychological suspense * Gilly Macmillan * Superb! And seriously twisted. This book will play with your mind...then STAY on your mind. Compelling and very, very clever * Teresa Driscoll, bestselling author of I Will Make You Pay. * I absolutely devoured it! It's right up my street and I couldn't get enough of Patti and Rose Gold, alternating my opinion of them at the same speed that I was turning the pages! A fabulous read! * Sandie Jones, author of The Other Woman * Wrobel writes a fascinating and thrilling debut that looks deeply into the complicated reasons a mother and daughter can hurt each other. A psychological twister that had me completely captivated until the end * Diane Les Becquets, author of Breaking Wild * I love it. Fascinating, immersive, whip-smart, with a supremely clever ending that left me gasping (and slightly devastated in the best way) * Melanie Golding, author of Little Darlings * I inhaled this book. The Recovery of Rose Gold delves so deep into family dysfunction that we are left gasping as the last pages turn. Compelling, intriguing, beautifully written and paced like a roller coaster ride, cancel all your plans when you pick up this terrific book * Liz Nugent, bestselling author of Unraveling Oliver and Lying in Wait * One of the most captivating and disturbing thrillers I've read this year. An astonishing debut * Samantha Downing, author of My Lovely Wife * It's rare for something genuinely fresh to come along in this genre, but this book has it all - a killer premise, twisty plotting, crisp writing and compelling characters. Dazzling, dark and utterly delicious * J P Delaney, bestselling author of The Girl Before * Takes twisted mum and daughter relationships to a whole new level. Think Misery meets Sharp Objects * C. J. Tudor, bestselling author of The Chalk Man * A spine-chilling thriller injected with themes of obsession and revenge . . . Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl and Paula Hawkin's The Girl on the Train, The Recovery of Rose Gold is set to be next year's biggest thriller * Stylist * Sensationally good - two complex characters power the story like a nuclear reaction, and won't let you forget them. Wrobel is one to watch. * Lee Child * An absolutely brilliant book; funny, dark, authentic and a total page turner. I loved it * Lisa Jewell, bestselling author of The Family Upstairs *


See Also