Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

The RAAF History

1921-1996 (3-Volume Boxed Set)

Chris Clark Alan Stephens Mark Lax



In stock
Ready to ship


03 March 2021
This three-volume boxed set brings together the three official histories produced by the Royal Australian Air Force since 1991, covering three distinct periods of its history since its inception in 1921.

Volume 1: The Third Brother

Written by Dr Chris Clark and originally published in 1991, this explores the story of the RAAF in its formative inter-war years from 1921 to 1939, clearly articulating the challenges confronting the fledgling air force in endeavouring to establish itself as the third Service, at times in the face of significant opposition from the other two well-established Services. Dr Clark gives insights into the early workings of the RAAF, including its problems with "inadequate equipment and fractured leadership", as well as how, despite being a small air force "far removed from the mainstream of world affairs" during the period, it was able to establish a strong basis for a 50-fold expansion in size during World War II.

Volume 2: Going Solo

Written by Dr Alan Stephens, this picks up the story of the RAAF in the post-World War II years from 1946 to 1971. Originally published in 1995, it starts with the extraordinary period of mass demobilisation that followed the war. This was a time of government indifference to military service and of severe reductions in resources. But the combination of Cold War tensions, Australia's commitments to the conflicts in Korea, Malaya, Indonesia and Vietnam, and the military-technological revolution epitomised by jet aircraft and missiles, dramatically reversed this attitude. Simultaneously, shifts in international politics made it clear that Australia's defence and foreign policies would have to become more self-reliant. For the RAAF, the great challenge presented by this compelling set of circumstances was to become more disciplined, better educated and more professional, or to use a flying analogy, "going solo".

Volume 3: Taking the Lead

Written by Air Commodore (Dr) Mark Lax, this was first published in 2020. Covering the period 1972 to 1996, Dr Lax takes the reader through the RAAF's post-Vietnam era and what would be a decade of relative peace globally. The challenges to be faced by the RAAF would be driven by constant pressures for budgetary, workforce and organisational efficiencies, dictated not only by the government of the time, but also internally within Defence and Air Force itself.

The bringing together of these three titles reinforces the underlying messages of resilience and perseverance contained in the Air Force motto "Per ardua ad astra" or "Through adversity to the stars". Despite both the ongoing and varied challenges faced by the RAAF over the past 100 years, the Air Force has proven to be the stronger for it and has continued to deliver air power for the people of Australia.
By:   Chris Clark, Alan Stephens, Mark Lax
Country of Publication:   Australia
Dimensions:   Height: 234mm,  Width: 153mm, 
ISBN:   9781922488008
ISBN 10:   1922488003
Publication Date:   03 March 2021
Format:   Hardback
Publisher's Status:   Active

See Also