FREIGHT DELAYS IN AND OUT: MORE INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

The Puritan Princess

Miranda Malins

$32.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

Orion
31 March 2020
Fiction & Literature; Historical romance; Sagas; Historical fiction
Power, passion and a devastating fight for the crown - discover the gripping story of Oliver Cromwell's youngest daughter. Perfect for fans of Anne O'Brien, Alison Weir and Philippa Gregory 1657. The youngest daughter of Oliver Cromwell, eighteen-year-old Frances is finding her place at England's new centre of power.

Following the turmoil of Civil War, a fragile sense of stability has returned to the country. Her father has risen to the unprecedented position of Lord Protector of the Commonwealth, and Frances has found herself transported from her humble childhood home to the sumptuous palaces of Hampton Court and Whitehall, where she dreams of romance.

But after an assassination attempt on the Cromwell family, Frances realises the precarious danger of her position - and when her father is officially offered the crown, Frances' fate becomes a matter of diplomatic and dynastic importance.

Trapped in the web of court intrigue, Frances must make a choice. Allow herself to be a political pawn, or use her new status to take control - of her own future, and of her country's...

*** Readers are swept away by The Puritan Princess:

'There is much to enjoy in this evocation of a family whose lives are so upended by the convulsions of history' Antonia Senior, The Times 'This engaging novel brings one of the most momentous but least well known periods of English history vividly to life.' Carolyn Kirby, author of THE CONVICTION OF CORA BURNS 'Miranda Malins has offered us a thrilling debut novel, packed with expert scene-setting and juicy details, bringing to life her characters with aplomb and as a result allowing readers to revel in 17th century England's epicentre of power.' Prof Michael Scott, University of Warwick 'Simply brilliant' Rachel Phipps, blogger 'A fresh look at the Cromwell family . . . perfect reading in lockdown' The Punch 'Started reading The Puritan Princess last night and stayed up reading it until the wee small hours. Really well written and gripping stuff. Can't wait to get back to it this evening!' 'Passion, power and politics, what a treat. Utterly brilliant' 'A delightful evening. Absolutely loving The Puritan Princess' 'Fabulous book - the perfect escape'
By:   Miranda Malins
Imprint:   Orion
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Edition:   Digital original
Dimensions:   Height: 232mm,  Width: 152mm,  Spine: 36mm
Weight:   540g
ISBN:   9781409194804
ISBN 10:   1409194809
Pages:   448
Publication Date:   31 March 2020
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Miranda is a writer and historian specialising in the history of Oliver Cromwell, his family and the politics of the Interregnum period following the Civil Wars. She studied at Cambridge University, leaving with a PhD, and continues to speak at conferences and publish journal articles and book reviews. She is also a Trustee of the Cromwell Association. Alongside this, Miranda works as a commercial solicitor in the City and began writing historical novels on maternity leave. She lives in Hampshire with her husband, young son and cat Keats. Her debut novel, The Puritan Princess, will be published in 2020.

See Also