LATEST DISCOUNTS & SALES: PROMOTIONS

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

The Prospects

The gorgeous, queer enemies-to-lovers romance, perfect for fans of Red, White & Royal Blue

KT Hoffman

Double Rewards
$22.99

Paperback

Forthcoming
Pre-Order now

QTY:

English
Sphere
09 July 2024
Double Reward Points
Earn $10 Reward Vouchers

'Tenacious, sexy, effervescent, doggedly hopeful, and endlessly charming, with characters to root hard for and an irresistible voice - I completely adored it'

Casey McQuiston, author of Red, White & Royal Blue

Enemies. Rivals. Teammates.

It's going to be a hell of a season.

Gene Ionescu is content to play in the minor leagues. He's seen teammates get their big breaks, but as the first openly trans man in the world of competitive baseball, he has nearly everything he's ever let himself dream of.

When his former teammate and long-time rival, Luis Estrada, is unexpectedly drafted onto the team, the careful equilibrium of Gene's life is destroyed. Luis is standoffish, talented and inconveniently gorgeous, and the two men can barely get through a game together. This is war, and the team pays the price.

So when Luis surprises Gene with a softer side to his haughty demeanour, Gene offers an olive branch - for the sake of his teammates. Soon they discover that their chemistry on the pitch might lead them all the way to the playoffs. And their chemistry off the pitch . . . well, that could be enough to change the game for ever.

'I can't even express how much I adore this beautiful, joyful book'

Alicia Thompson, author of Love in the Time of Serial Killers

'This book is optimism and grit, dedication and unbridled joy . . . An absolute delight'

Rachel Lynn Solomon, author of The Ex Talk

'A heart-stealing romance . . . My favourite book - of this and any year'

Anita Kelly, author of Something Wild & Wonderful

Five-star reader reviews of The Prospects:

'The romance between Gene and Luis is fire but also achingly tender and sweet. It gave me all the feels' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'Funny and sexy and filled with such an incredible amount of hope, optimism, queer and trans joy, and queer found family' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'I absolutely loved so much of this book, and it gave me many moments of reading on the couch, feet kicking, and giggling wildly. It was beautiful' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'The steam and build of the relationship sucked me in . . . All I want to do is hug these two and live in this book' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'Stunning, joyful, and romantic as hell' ⭐⭐⭐&

By:  
Imprint:   Sphere
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 198mm,  Width: 126mm,  Spine: 32mm
Weight:   260g
ISBN:   9781408728611
ISBN 10:   1408728613
Pages:   384
Publication Date:  
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Forthcoming

KT Hoffman is an author of queer romance. His debut rom-com, The Prospects, is published by Dial Press (US) and Sphere (UK). KT is originally from Beaverton, Oregon and currently lives in Brooklyn. If he isn't writing about trans hope and gay kissing, he's probably watching baseball.

Reviews for The Prospects: The gorgeous, queer enemies-to-lovers romance, perfect for fans of Red, White & Royal Blue

I finished this book with a heart full of joy, gratitude and infield dirt. The Prospects is the kind of perfect sports romance that happens when a genuine love of the game meets stubborn human goodness. Tenacious, sexy, effervescent, doggedly hopeful, and endlessly charming, with characters to root hard for and an irresistible voice - I completely adored it * Casey McQuiston, author of Red, White and Royal Blue * The queer romcom I've been waiting for! Gene is the short king of my dreams and Luis is the secret cinnamon roll I want to wrap in a warm hug! The Prospects is a love letter to baseball, the Pacific Northwest, and trans joy. I adored every second of it! * Alison Cochrun, author of The Charm Offensive * A gorgeously written tale of queer joy and trans possibility, a heart-stealing romance and a loving tribute to the art of baseball - particularly the beauty, struggle, and camaraderie of the minor leagues. But what I love most of all about this book is how much it is a story about hope, how deeply comforted and at home I felt in both its honesty and its optimism. This is my favourite book - of this and any year * Anita Kelly, author of Love & Other Disasters * KT Hoffman has written a thrillingly swoony and big-hearted love story between two baseball players who you can't help but root for, even as they root against each other . . . The Prospects is a beautifully resonant appeal to a future where gay and trans people are celebrated, and even expected, in sports * Sabrina Imbler, author of How Far the Light Reaches *


See Also