MARCH'S BIG RELEASES TELL ME MORE

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

There's something fishy going on at St Halibut's in this hilarious adventure full of dastardly deeds and unlikely events from debut author Sophie Wills and million-copy bestselling illustrator, David Tazzyman.

Life at St Halibut's Home for Waifs and Strays has been idyllic for two months, ever since the children buried their matron (don't look like that - it was an accident!) Helpfully, the not-so-dear departed matron left behind a surprisingly large stash of money, which will keep them in black-market lemon sherbets for the rest of their lives. Tig, Stef and Herc just have to make sure nobody finds out they're on their own, But when they find out that St Halibut's is to be inspected by DEATH (the Department for Education, Assimilation, Training and Health), they start to panic. They'll need to convince the inspector that everything is peachy or they'll be sent to the Mending House - where badly-behaved orphans go, never to return. As the big day approaches, the children start to think they might just pull it off. But when the inspector arrives, things don't just go wrong, they get spectacularly out of hand . . .

Join Tig, Stef and Herc in this hilarious and quirky adventure about friendship and the power of the underdog from debut author Sophie Wills, illustrated throughout by the million-copy bestselling David Tazzyman.
By:   Sophie Wills
Illustrated by:   David Tazzyman
Imprint:   Macmillan
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 197mm,  Width: 130mm,  Spine: 25mm
Weight:   272g
ISBN:   9781529013375
ISBN 10:   1529013372
Series:   The Orphans of St Halibut's
Pages:   304
Publication Date:   01 October 2020
Recommended Age:   From 9 to 11 years
Audience:   Children/juvenile ,  English as a second language
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Sophie Wills grew up in Chelmsford, Essex. She failed the 11+, had a weekend job at a boarding kennels where she suffered workplace bullying from a goat and nurtured a dream to have a career she could do in her pyjamas. She worked at two London publishers before finally achieving her ambition by going freelance in 2003. She entered Mumsnet's first Bedtime Story competition in 2012 and Michael Rosen picked out as a winner her story about a pig-riding sheriff. David Tazzyman is an internationally acclaimed award-winning illustrator. He worked as a commercial illustrator before falling into children's publishing in 2006, illustrating Andy Stanton's Mr Gum series which went on to win numerous awards, including the first Roald Dahl Funny Prize in 2008. Now David mainly illustrates children's picture and fiction books and lives in Leicestershire with his partner and three children.

Reviews for The Orphans of St Halibut's

'There's nothing I love more than getting stuck into a really good book featuring orphans, workhouses and wicked matrons so I LOVED The Orphans of St Halibut's! Plus it's proper laugh-out-loud funny. What a treat' -- Judith Eagle, author of <i>The Secret Starling</i> [A] brilliantly funny tale -- Anna Fargher, author of <i>The Umbrella Mouse</i> Stupendous and hilarious! Hapless heroes, slime ball villains, and a volatile goat. Deliciously disgusting at times, and filled to the brim with Sophie's dark humour. Perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket. -- Hana Tooke, author of <i>The Unadoptables</i> A darkly delightful combination of slapstick humour and sharp satire -- Miss Cleveland, book blogger Deliciously dark and laugh-out-loud funny, I LOVE The Orphans of St Halibut's -- Julie Pike, author of <i>The Last Spell Breather</i> Dark, funny and very, very clever. With gloriously gothic artwork from David Tazzyman -- Rashmi Sirdeshpande, author of <i>How to be Extraordinary</i> This book will make you snort, squirm and scream with laughter! -- Dashe Roberts, author of <i>Sticky Pines: The Bigwoof Conspiracy</i> All round middle grade perfection! -- Marie Basting, author of <i>Princess BMX</i> Fast-paced, witty and clever with wicked twists and turns and a brilliant bunch of characters. David Tazzyman's illustrations are spot on! -- MyBookCorner Blog What a wonderful caper . . . fantastically high-spirited and truly heartwarming story. -- Marina Hyde, <i>Guardian </i>columnist A fabulously funny tale of clever orphans, rambling houses, angry goats and grizzly ends . . . made me laugh out loud! -- Kirsty Applebaum, author of <i>The Middler</i> Deliciously funny, dark, eccentric and clever -- Nicola Penfold, author of <i>Where the World Turns Wild</i> A lovely - warm, funny, energetic - read. -- Lucy Mangan The most effortlessly hilarious book I've read in a long time with an unforgettable cast -- Nizrana Farook, author of <i>The Girl Who Stole an Elephant</i>


See Also