CRIME MYSTERY BOOKS ON SALE! SHOW ME MORE

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

The Lost Letters of Rose Carey

Julie Bennett

Signed
$32.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

English
Simon & Schuster
01 May 2024
A stirring tale of mystery and romance, inspired by the life of 1920s Australian film icon and ‘million-dollar mermaid’ Annette Kellerman.

BLUE MOUNTAINS, 2024: Working on a documentary at the historic Carrington Hotel, videographer Emma Quinn discovers a box of handwritten letters belonging to Rose Carey, water dancer and golden girl of the silent film era. Intrigued, Emma begins to read through them, slowly uncovering a deadly secret.

SYDNEY, 1923: Rose Carey has faced enough scandal to last a lifetime. After an accident and near-death experience, the threat of bankruptcy, and rumours of her romantic entanglements, Rose decides to take matters into her own hands and propose to her business manager, Walter. A respectable marriage will redeem her reputation and give her the good publicity she needs – problems solved. But she doesn’t account for the unexpected feelings brewing between her and Walter, or for the possibility that the accident wasn’t so accidental after all …

When she suffers another brush with death, Rose realises that someone close to her wants her out of the way. Who in her close-knit circle has the most to gain? Can she trust anyone, other than herself?

'A tour de force' Meg Keneally, author of Fled

‘Part mystery, part love story, this dazzling novel completely captivated me’ Jillian Cantor, author of Half Life

'A compelling story of love, loss and the true meaning of family' Nina D. Campbell, author of Daughters of Eve

 
By:  
Imprint:   Simon & Schuster
Country of Publication:   Australia
Dimensions:   Height: 234mm,  Width: 153mm, 
ISBN:   9781760858551
ISBN 10:   1760858552
Pages:   368
Publication Date:  
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Julie Bennett fell in love with words at a very young age and soon after leaving school began a career in libraries. In her late twenties she decided to follow her dream to write for a living and, after graduating university, became a journalist. In 2004 she launched a public relations company, which she still manages today. Julie lives with her wonderful husband, Bruce and their gorgeous kelpie cross cattle dog, Riley, within walking distance of the Sydney Opera House where she performed as a child extra back in 1973, the year it opened. The Lost Letters of Rose Carey is Julie’s second novel. Her debut The Understudy was published by Simon & Schuster in 2022.

Reviews for The Lost Letters of Rose Carey

'This is a must-read book for fans of Kate Morton and Natasha Lester and those who enjoy a story that develops through bittersweet, passionate, and deeply moving letters.' * <B><I>Books+Publishing</I></B> * 'This novel is such an accomplished feat. The reverberation between the two protagonists, separated in time, is masterful. At its core though, it is a novel which exemplifies female power. A tour de force of female agency.' -- <B>Meg Keneally, author of<I> Fled</I></B> 'I was instantly captured by Emma Quinn and her struggle to conceive a child with her wife Lauren, but it was Bennett’s ability to seamlessly sew a century old mystery into the narrative through Rose Carey’s letters that saw me lose my heart to this book.  A compelling story of love, loss and the true meaning of family, The Lost Letters of Rose Carey grabbed me on page one and I’m not sure it will ever truly let me go!' -- <B>Nina D. Campbell, author of <I>Daughters of Eve</I></B> ‘The Lost Letters of Rose Carey is a beautifully written, expertly entwined story of two women, 100 years apart, who ultimately share a stunning connection. Part mystery, part love story, this dazzling novel completely captivated me, and I absolutely fell in love with both Julie Bennett’s modern day and historical heroines.’ -- <B>Jillian Cantor, author of <I>Half Life</I></B>


See Also