Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

The Living Sea of Waking Dreams

Richard Flanagan



Not in-store but you can order this
How long will it take?


Alfred A Knopf
29 September 2020
In a world of perennial fire and growing extinctions, Anna's aged mother is dying-if her three children would just allow it. Condemned by their pity to living she increasingly escapes through her hospital window into visions of horror and delight.

When Anna's finger vanishes and a few months later her knee disappears, Anna too feels the pull of the window. She begins to see that all around her others are similarly vanishing, but no one else notices. All Anna can do is keep her mother alive. But the window keeps opening wider, taking Anna and the reader ever deeper into a strangely beautiful story about hope and love and orange-bellied parrots.

Richard Flanagan at Abbey's Bookshop in 2014 with The Narrow Road to the Deep North
Imprint:   Alfred A Knopf
Country of Publication:   Australia
Dimensions:   Height: 218mm,  Width: 145mm,  Spine: 39mm
Weight:   469g
ISBN:   9781760899943
ISBN 10:   1760899941
Pages:   240
Publication Date:  
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Hardback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Richard Flanagan was born in Tasmania in 1961. His novels Death of a River Guide, The Sound of One Hand Clapping, Gould's Book of Fish, The Unknown Terrorist, Wanting, The Narrow Road to the Deep North and First Person have received numerous honours and are published in 42 countries. He won the Man Booker Prize for The Narrow Road to the Deep North in 2014.

See Also