Welcome to our new site MORE INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

Last Astronaut

David Wellington

$22.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

Orbit Books
23 July 2019
Science fiction; Space opera; First Contact; Space Exploration
A tense and thrilling science fiction adventure of space exploration and first contact, perfect for fans of THE MARTIAN, ARRIVAL and INTERSTELLAR.

Sally Jansen was NASA's leading astronaut, until a mission to Mars ended in disaster. Haunted by her failure, Jansen now lives in semi-retirement, convinced her days in space are over.

She's wrong.

A huge alien object has entered the solar system and is now poised above the Earth. It has made no attempt at communication.

With no other living astronauts to turn to, NASA wants Jansen to lead an expedition to the object. For all the dangers of the mission, it's the one shot at redemption she always hoped for.

Yet as the object reveals its terrifying secrets, what began as a journey to make First Contact turns into a desperate struggle for survival . . . and one thing becomes horribly clear: the future of humanity lies in Jansen's hands.

Praise for David Wellington 'Gripping writing, a brilliantly realised future culture and sympathetic characters . . . An entertaining and compelling read' SFX 'Thrilling, relentless, gripping and utterly improbable: pure delight for fans' Kirkus 'Jam-packed with action and adventure' Booklist 'Terrific and thrilling' SciFi
By:   David Wellington
Imprint:   Orbit Books
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 196mm,  Width: 126mm,  Spine: 26mm
Weight:   280g
ISBN:   9780356512297
ISBN 10:   0356512290
Pages:   384
Publication Date:   23 July 2019
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

David Wellington is an acclaimed author who has previously published over twenty novels in different genres.

Reviews for Last Astronaut

Breathless, compulsive reading. This book deserves to be the one you see everyone reading on the subway or at the beach. Carve out the time to read it in one sitting. An absolutely stellar effort from David Wellington - Christopher Golden


See Also