Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

facebook
Google Book Preview
The Lone City 1: The Jewel
— —
Amy Ewing
The Lone City 1: The Jewel by Amy Ewing at Abbey's Bookshop,

The Lone City 1: The Jewel

Amy Ewing


9781406347494

Walker Books


Children's & Educational;
Romance & relationships stories (Children's&YA)


Paperback

368 pages

$17.99
In stock
Ready to ship
order qty:  
Add this item to my basket

A shocking and compelling new YA series from debut author, Amy Ewing; The Handmaid's Tale meets The Other Boleyn Girl in a world where beauty and brutality collide.

Violet Lasting is no longer a human being. Tomorrow she becomes Lot 197, auctioned to the highest royal bidder in the Jewel of the Lone City. Tomorrow she becomes the Surrogate of the House of the Lake, her sole purpose to produce a healthy heir for the Duchess. Imprisoned in the opulent cage of the palace, Violet learns the brutal ways of the Jewel, where the royal women compete to secure their bloodline and the surrogates are treated as disposable commodities. Destined to carry the child of a woman she despises, Violet enters a living death of captivity - until she sets eyes on Ash Lockwood, the royal Companion. Compelled towards each other by a reckless, clandestine passion, Violet and Ash dance like puppets in a deadly game of court politics, until they become each other's jeopardy - and salvation.

By:   Amy Ewing
Imprint:   Walker Books
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 198mm,  Width: 129mm,  Spine: 22mm
Weight:   255g
ISBN:   9781406347494
ISBN 10:   1406347493
Series:   The Lone City Trilogy
Pages:   368
Publication Date:   September 2014
Recommended Age:   From 14
Audience:   Young adult ,  Preschool (0-5)
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Amy Ewing is a graduate of the New School's MFA program in Writing for Children, and has a BA from New York University. The daughter and granddaughter of librarians, she is a self-confessed high-fantasy nerd who meant to be an actor, but found herself a writer. She lives in New York.


Dystopia with a feminist edge...hugely enjoyable, with strong characters and a nail-biting cliff-hanger. * The Bookseller * A very good dystopic tale with a brilliant ending that will leave you wanting to read the next instalment * Loves Books Read Daily * A shocking and compelling new YA series in a world where beauty and brutality collide -- Fiona Noble * Bookseller Children's Guide * WOW...truly unique. Horrifying and gripping all at once. * COMPANY * With echoes of The Handmaid's Tale, this is a fascinating fantasy. * Marie Claire * A fantastically original new fantasy which examines notions of identity and personhood against a lavish backdrop of opulent parties and riches galore. With dashes of magic, mystery and romance at every turn, there is real cross-genre appeal here and there is sure to be a large fan base once The Jewel hits the shelves. With a plot that is fresh and original and characters that are Intriguing, The Jewel is a brilliant debut, and one full of promise for a stunning series to develop. I, for one, cannot wait to see what else Ewing has to offer. * We Love this Book * Forbidden romance, life-threatening danger and a journey of terrible discoveries await in this thrilling opener to a daring, dynamic new series. * Lancashire Evening Post * Intriguing. * Books for Keeps * Compelling and heart pounding * Bath Chronicle * `This dystopian, dark romance will appeal to fans of Allie Condie and The Hunger Games. * Reading Zone * This book is truly incredible. -- Reader Review * The Guardian Online * This is a really good book, full of suspense and a real page-turner. -- Anna Morrow * Teen Titles * This breath-taking YA novel follows the story of Violet Lasting, who loses her identity when she is auctioned off as a `surrogate' in the Jewel of the Lone City. [...] We mean it when we say that The Jewel is impossible to put down - and be sure to watch out for that insane plot twist... * Stylist *

My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.