FREIGHT DELAYS IN AND OUT: MORE INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

The House of Government: A Saga of the Russian Revolution

Yuri Slezkine

$44.99

Paperback

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?

QTY:

Princeton University Pres
31 May 2019
History; European history; Social & cultural history; Russian Revolution; Marxism & Communism; Museum, historic sites, gallery & art guides
The epic story of an enormous Soviet apartment building where Communist true believers lived before their destruction The House of Government is unlike any other book about the Russian Revolution and the Soviet experiment. Written in the tradition of Tolstoy's War and Peace, Grossman's Life and Fate, and Solzhenitsyn's The Gulag Archipelago, Yur
By:   Yuri Slezkine
Imprint:   Princeton University Pres
Country of Publication:   United States
Dimensions:   Height: 235mm,  Width: 156mm, 
ISBN:   9780691192727
ISBN 10:   0691192723
Pages:   1128
Publication Date:   31 May 2019
Audience:   College/higher education ,  Professional and scholarly ,  Primary ,  Undergraduate
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Yuri Slezkine is the Jane K. Sather Professor of History at the University of California, Berkeley. His books include The Jewish Century (Princeton), which won the National Jewish Book Award.

Reviews for The House of Government: A Saga of the Russian Revolution

Brilliant. --Andrew Stuttaford, Wall Street Journal A Soviet War and Peace. --Sheila Fitzpatrick, London Review of Books An absolute delight to read . . . a masterpiece. --Steve Donoghue, Christian Science Monitor Magisterial. --Joshua Yaffa, New Yorker Selected for Le Monde's Monde des livres 2017 (chosen by Nicolas Weill) One of World's 2017 Books of the Year in History One of The Guardian's Best Books of 2017 Compelling. . . . [L]ike Solzhenitsyn with photographs. --Tom Stoppard, Times Literary Supplement Few historians, dead or alive, have managed to combine so spectacularly the gifts of storyteller and scholar. --Benjamin Nathans, New York Review of Books A must-read. --Margaret Atwood One of The Australian's Books of the Year 2017 (chosen by Louis Nowra) One of London Review Bookshop's Best History Books, Christmas 2017 One of the Millions.com A Year in Reading 2017: Stephen Dodson One of Open Letters Monthly's Our Year in Reading 2017 One of The Times Literary Supplement's Books of the Year 2017 Selected as a New York Times Editors' Choice, Aug 24, 2017 Honorable Mention for the 2019 Laura Shannon Prize in Contemporary European Studies, Nanovic Institute, University of Notre Dame One of Mosaic's Best Books of 2018 (Ruth Wisse) Winner of the 2018 George L. Mosse Prize, American Historical Association Shortlisted for the 2018 Pushkin House Russian Book Prize Winner of the 2018 Norris and Carol Hundley Award, Pacific Coast Branch of the American Historical Association One of the Times Colonist Favorite Books of 2017 (chosen by Adrian Dix) One of the Economist.com Wise Words 2017 Books of the Year in History One of The New York Times 100 Notable Books of 2017 One of The Spectator 2017 Books of the Year Winner of the 2018 PROSE Award in World History, Association of American Publishers


See Also