THE BIG SALE IS ON! TELL ME MORE

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

The Holly King

#4 Witches of Woodville

Mark Stay

$22.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

English
Simon & Schuster
29 November 2023

'Fast-paced, entertainingly creepy, laugh-out-loud funny, and genuinely moving' Michelle Paver

'Full of magic and delight' Rowan Coleman

‘A darkly comic delight that makes you nostalgic for a simpler time when witches were kicking Hitler’s backside’ C. K. McDonnell


The Holly King is coming, and you’re on his list . . . 

It's December 1940, and Christmas has come to Woodville. Faye Bright is looking forward to a good old knees-up after a year of supernatural mayhem and Luftwaffe air raids, but it seems glad tidings are in short supply.

Already contending with food rationing and sky-high beer prices, the village is upended by the arrival of the Holly King, an ancient power bent on reclaiming his woodland domain. No mortal magic can stand in his way.

As the winter solstice draws in and the villagers fall under the Holly King’s spell, Faye, Bertie and the witches race to prevent his sinister Feast of Fools from reaching its deadly conclusion. But when terrible truths threaten to tear them apart, can they confront the mistakes of the past to save the village from destruction?

Or has Woodville seen its last Christmas?

 


For fans of Lev Grossman and Terry Pratchett comes the fourth novel in this delightful series of war, mystery and a little bit of magic . . .


By:  
Imprint:   Simon & Schuster
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 198mm,  Width: 130mm,  Spine: 26mm
ISBN:   9781398520790
ISBN 10:   1398520799
Pages:   448
Publication Date:  
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Mark Stay got a part-time Christmas job at Waterstone’s in the nineties (back when it still had an apostrophe) and somehow ended up working in publishing for over 25 years. He would write in his spare time and (he can admit this now) on company time, and sometimes those writings would get turned into books and films. Mark is also co-presenter of the Bestseller Experiment podcast, which has inspired writers all over the world to finish and publish their books. Born in London, he lives in Kent with YouTube gardener Claire Burgess and a declining assortment of retired chickens. Follow him on Twitter and online at:    @markstay markstaywrites.com witchesofwoodville.com  

Reviews for The Holly King: #4 Witches of Woodville

Praise for the Witches of Woodville series:  'Beautiful and engaging and clever and what more could you ask for in a book?' Manda Scott, bestselling author of A Treachery of Spies 'Warm, witty, witchy wartime fun. With Mark Stay as writer you're always guaranteed a magical read' Julie Wassmer, author of the Whitstable Pearl Mysteries 'A delightful mash-up of Dad’s Army and Charmed. An absolute treat' CK McDonnell, author of Stranger Times 'Enid Blyton filmed by Hammer' Talking Scared Podcast 'You'll love it: Doctor Who meets Worzel Gummidge' Lorna Cook, author of The Forgotten Village 'Stay has brewed a cracking blend of charm and creepiness in The Crow Folk. A rip-roaring tale of bravery and witchcraft on the wartime home front, expertly told with lashings of wit and warmth' Pernille Hughes, author of Probably the Best Kiss in the World 'A jolly romp with witches, demons, and bellringing. Pratchett fans will enjoy this, and Faye is a feisty and fun hero. Dad's Army meets Witches of Eastwick' Ian W Sainsbury 'A young witch to rival Tiffany Aching. Magic!' FMA Dixon 'Mark’s ingenious decision to set his magical saga not in some ancient realm of wizards and dragons but in a vividly recreated WWII-era rural England gives us the most lived-in and believable fantasy world. I wish I’d thought of it' Mitch Benn


See Also