DELIVERY AUSTRALIA-WIDE $9.90 (NSW/ACT $7.90) • EXPRESS POST • STORE PICK-UP INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

The Hand of the Sun King

J.T. Greathouse

$32.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

Gollancz
10 August 2021
'Hands down the best debut of the year. Scratch that; this is one of the best debuts I've ever read' Novel Notions
'A great coming of age story about a foolish boy who seeks to unravel the secrets of magic and maybe do something good in the process. I absolutely loved it' Nick Martel

My name is Wen Alder. My name is Foolish Cur.

All my life, I have been torn between two legacies: that of my father, whose roots trace back to the right hand of the Emperor. That of my mother's family, who reject the oppressive Empire and embrace the resistance. I can choose between them - between protecting my family, or protecting my people - or I can search out a better path . . . a magical path, filled with secrets, unbound by empire or resistance, which could shake my world to its very foundation. But my search for freedom will entangle me in a war between the gods themselves . . . The first book in the Pact and Pattern series. Fans of Robin Hobb, Brandon Sanderson's Mistborn and R.F. Kuang's The Poppy War will love the magic running through every page.

'An original fantasy filled with magic and culture, the story of a character torn between two names, two loyalties, and two definitions of good and evil' Kevin J. Anderson, New York Times bestselling author
By:   J.T. Greathouse
Imprint:   Gollancz
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 232mm,  Width: 152mm,  Spine: 32mm
Weight:   500g
ISBN:   9781473232884
ISBN 10:   1473232880
Series:   Pact and Pattern
Pages:   416
Publication Date:   10 August 2021
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

J.T. Greathouse has been writing fantasy and science fiction since he was eleven years old. He holds a BA in history and philosophy with a minor in Asian studies as well as a Master's in Teaching from Whitworth University, and spent four months of intensive study in Chinese language and culture at Minzu University of China in Beijing. His short fiction has appeared, often as Jeremy A. TeGrotenhuis, in Beneath Ceaseless Skies, Writers of the Future 34, Deep Magic, Orson Scott Card's Intergalactic Medicine Show, and elsewhere. In addition to writing, he has worked as an ESL teacher in Taipei, as a bookseller at Auntie's Bookstore in Spokane, and as a high school teacher. He currently lives in Spokane, Washington with his wife Hannah and several overflowing bookshelves.

Reviews for The Hand of the Sun King

Sublime prose and pin-sharp characterisation combine to produce a captivating epic of conflicted loyalties and dangerous ambition * Anthony Ryan, New York Times bestselling author * A spellbinding debut with terrific characterisations, immersive world-building, and prose that swept me away . . . hands down the best debut of the year. Scratch that; this is one of the best debuts I've ever read * Novel Notions * A great coming of age story about a foolish boy who seeks to unravel the secrets of magic and maybe do something good in the process. I absolutely loved it * Nick Martell, author of Kingdom of Liars * Well written, thought provoking and enjoyable, The Hand of the Sun King is an impressive debut novel that left me eager for more * Lisbeth Campbell, author of The Vanished Queen * An original fantasy filled with magic and culture, the story of a character torn between two names, two loyalties, and two definitions of good and evil * Kevin J. Anderson, New York Times bestselling author of Spine of the Dragon * An excellent mix of classic and modern fantasy with a grimdark undertone of despair * Grimdark Magazine * Set in a fantastical world of magic with a rich history, this novel fits beautifully into its genre while also addressing some failings of the genre by turning them on their head * Dawn Vogel, History That Never Was * J.T. Greathouse's debut is going to make waves . . . without a doubt one of the best books I've read in a long time * Jon Ficke * Wen Alder's pursuit for forbidden knowledge, while having to choose a future that will either make his parents proud or honor his legacy makes for an addicting journey full of magic * Clay Harmon * An excellent debut * Aspects of Me * A sublime debut fantasy novel set in a unique world that, through the eyes of Wen Alder, shares the delightful intricacies of world-building * Eternal Bookcase * [The Hand of the Sun King] creates a rich and intricate world with magic, politics, ambition and resistance * Maria Haskins *


See Also