OUR ONLINE STORE IS OPEN, but... MORE INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

The Good Turn (#3 Cormac Reilly)

Dervla McTiernan

$32.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

Harper Collins
01 March 2020
Fiction & Literature; Crime & mystery; Thriller & suspense
ABBEY'S BOOKSELLER PICK ----- Cormac Reilly is struggling. He has made enemies in the station, his boss is more interested in furthering his son's investigations than rostering staff on to do routine work, and his partner Emma is living and working in Brussels, with no interest in returning to Galway, and seemingly little interest in returning to Cormac. When a local boy reports a kidnapping seen from his window, Cormac and the young officer he has taken under his wing race to investigate. Meanwhile a woman on the run from evil, has spirited her young daughter (who is suffering from mutism - she saw something that shocked her into silence) to a backwater village in the hope of protecting them both. The village itself holds unexplained mysteries… It takes a while before the reader sees how all these things are connected - but it is a thrilling read and unputdownable. As enjoyable a read as the previous two Cormac Reilly books! Lindy Jones

-----

'With her third novel Dervla McTiernan confirms she's a born storyteller' Val McDermid The unputdownable new novel from the bestselling author of The Ruin and The Scholar.

Police corruption, an investigation that ends in tragedy and the mystery of a little girl's silence - three unconnected events that will prove to be linked by one small town.

While Detective Cormac Reilly faces enemies at work and trouble in his personal life, Garda Peter Fisher is relocated out of Galway with the threat of prosecution hanging over his head. But even that is not as terrible as having to work for his overbearing father, the local copper for the pretty seaside town of Roundstone.

For some, like Anna and her young daughter Tilly, Roundstone is a refuge from trauma. But even this village on the edge of the sea isn't far enough to escape from the shadows of evil men.

PRAISE FOR DERVLA McTIERNAN:

'Intelligent and fast-paced ... We can't wait [for the next case]' - Wall Street Journal 'Top-notch crime writing' - Kate Forsyth 'Like The Ruin, The Scholar is a fast-paced, rewarding read' - Irish Examiner 'A truly fine police procedural that should see the author rocket from star to superstar' - Irish Independent 'Taut, tense and darkly addictive' - Candice Fox 'Confirms McTiernan's place in the top rank of crime writers' - Chris Hammer 'The Ruin was an outstanding debut but The Scholar proves beyond a doubt that Dervla McTiernan is a remarkable talent ... crime fiction of the highest standard' - Jane Casey 'A story that is as moving as it is fast-paced' - Val McDermid 'A writer to watch' - Publishers Weekly 'Dervla McTiernan's first novel far outclasses some of the genre's stalwarts, marking her as a crime writer to watch, and Cormac Reilly a cop to follow to hell and back. Fans of Ian Rankin and Tana French will feel right at home' - Bookseller + Publisher

By:   Dervla McTiernan
Imprint:   Harper Collins
Country of Publication:   Australia
Volume:   03
Dimensions:   Height: 235mm,  Width: 154mm,  Spine: 30mm
Weight:   532g
ISBN:   9781460756799
ISBN 10:   1460756797
Series:   Cormac Reilly
Publication Date:   01 March 2020
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

See Also