LATEST DISCOUNTS & SALES: PROMOTIONS

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

The Girl from Moscow

Julia Levitina

$32.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

English
Pantera Press
27 February 2024
1983, Moscow. 21-one-year-old Ella dreams of stardom and playing Natasha Rostova in War and Peace at the Moscow Theatre Academy. But while meeting her friend Vlad in the city, she finds herself in the middle of a protest, thus attracting the attention of the KGB.

Labelled a traitor, she must withdraw from the academy, and soon yearns to escape the cruel and oppressive Soviet regime. However, her hopes of leaving the country are smashed when her husband Roman is sentenced to two years in a labour camp for selling American jeans with the intent to make a profit.

As she looks for another way out, Ella is drawn into a dangerous game of cat and mouse with a KGB general, who has the power to secure her freedom. Will she risk everything and leave behind those she loves to pursue a life in the West?

A gripping, passionate and heart-stopping tale packed with twists and turns for fans of The Spy's Wife, The Girl from Munich and The Tattooist of Auschwitz.


'A stunning debut novel. Julia has beautifully crafted characters and given us a tale of intrigue set against the backdrop of 1980s Russia. She has created a thrilling atmosphere of the insidious threat that communist Russia posed, not to its enemies, but its own citizens. I lost sleep devouring this page-turner.' Heather Morris, author of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and Cilka’s Journey

'A unique new voice in historical fiction.' Belinda Alexandra

'Embark on an exhilarating Cold War journey with Julia Levitina's brilliant debut, The Girl from Moscow. I was hooked by Ella's story from the very first page. This is a must-read for fans of fast-paced, engrossing historical fiction.' Kelly Rimmer

By:  
Imprint:   Pantera Press
Country of Publication:   Australia
Dimensions:   Height: 234mm,  Width: 153mm, 
Weight:   437g
ISBN:   9780645757811
ISBN 10:   0645757810
Pages:   320
Publication Date:  
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Julia Levitina designed sets and costumes for Moscow Theatre before immigrating to Australia in 1991 with two children and $200 to her name. She completed a Masters of Theatre Design at the University of Technology Sydney. While teaching set and costume design she wrote short stories, and her short story E-Love was produced by Radio National. The Girl from Moscow is her first novel and was shortlisted for the Australian Society of Authors Commercial Fiction prize for unpublished manuscripts. She lives in Sydney's eastern suburbs with her husband and two children.

See Also