Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

facebook
Google Book Preview
The First Time Lauren Pailing Died
— —
Alyson Rudd
The First Time Lauren Pailing Died by Alyson Rudd at Abbey's Bookshop,

The First Time Lauren Pailing Died

Alyson Rudd


9780008278281

HARPER360


Fiction & Literature;
Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945);
Advocate - Fiction


Paperback

384 pages

$29.99
In stock
Ready to ship
order qty:  
Add this item to my basket

Double Reward Points
More info

Lauren Pailing is born in the sixties, and a child of the seventies. She is thirteen years old the first time she dies.

Lauren Pailing is a teenager in the eighties, becomes a Londoner in the nineties. And each time she dies, new lives begin for the people who loved her – while Lauren enters a brand new life, too.

But in each of Lauren’s lives, a man called Peter Stanning disappears. And, in each of her lives, Lauren sets out to find him.

And so it is that every ending is also a beginning. And so it is that, with each new beginning, Peter Stanning inches closer to finally being found…

Perfect for fans of Kate Atkinson and Maggie O’Farrell, The First Time Lauren Pailing Died is a book about loss, grief – and how, despite it not always feeling that way, every ending marks the start of something new.

‘STYLISH, ALLURING, UTTERLY GRIPPING’ Lisa O’Kelly, Observer
‘LIKE NOTHING YOU HAVE EVER READ BEFORE’Red
‘ASSURED AND INTRIGUING…EMOTIONALLY CHARGED’ Daily Mail

By:   Alyson Rudd
Imprint:   HARPER360
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 221mm,  Width: 153mm,  Spine: 26mm
Weight:   420g
ISBN:   9780008278281
ISBN 10:   0008278288
Pages:   384
Publication Date:   July 2019
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Alyson Rudd was born in Liverpool, raised in West Lancashire and educated at the London School of Economics. She is a sports journalist at The Times and lives in South West London. She has written two works of non-fiction. The First Time Lauren Pailing Died is her first novel.


`A stylish time-slip story a la Sliding Doors' Guardian (hottest-tipped debuts of 2019) `A page turner of a debut' Grazia `Alyson Rudd explores love and loss with nuance' i newspaper `Stylish, alluring, utterly gripping. An intricate, elegantly written time-slip tale that keeps you guessing until the last page.' Lisa O'Kelly, Observer `Stunning, moving and very clever' Mark Lawson `Beautiful, extremely moving and expertly done, with a lightness of touch that belies the complexity behind the plotting. I loved it (and I cried several times!)' Harriet Tyce, author of Blood Orange `A wonderful novel. The story weaves in and out of the timelines effortlessly...brilliantly paced' Katie S (Netgalley) `A very clever book and one which I enjoyed very much' Debra F (Netgalley) `Where the novel really succeeds is in the delineation of love and loss, of growing and diminishing, of grief and mourning. The way in which [Alyson Rudd] conveys difficult emotions through dialogue is the real highlight of this story' Sarah D (Netgalley) `From the opening pages, the tale shimmers with grief, loss and enough period detail to lend authenticity to what is, after all, a slightly incredible (in the truest sense) story. Claims of echoes of Kate Atkinson and Maggie O'Farrell are entirely justified. Tender, evocative, affecting and utterly gorgeous' Ophelia S (Netgalley) `Thought-provoking and beautifully written. I loved it' Sheri K (Netgalley) `Unforgettable' Alexander H (Netgalley) `5* - irresistible' Lucy G (Netgalley)

My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.