Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

The Diet Compass

The 12-step guide to science-based nutrition for a healthier and longer life

Bas Kast



In stock
Ready to ship


Scribe Publications
07 January 2021
What do people with a particularly long life-span eat? How can you lose weight efficiently? Are illnesses in old age avoidable? Can you 'eat yourself young'?

Discover the answers to these questions and more in this practical, science-based guide to eating well and living longer, which has sold over a million copies worldwide.

When science journalist Bas Kast collapsed with chest pains, he feared he had ruined his health forever with a diet of junk food. So he set off on a journey to uncover the essentials of diet and longevity.

Here, filtered from thousands of sometimes conflicting research findings, Kast presents the key scientific insights that reveal the most beneficial diet possible. From analysing how much sugar you should consume to looking at the impact of supplements, fasting, and even whether you should drink tea or coffee, Kast breaks down diet myths to present the key facts you need to know in clear, accessible language.

'The most important nonfiction book of the year.' -Der Spiegel 'Science journalist Bas Kast is at the cutting edge of research on nutrition ... Here he fascinatingly and clearly explains the essence of the latest findings.' -Woman 'Kast is one of the new breed of nutritional experts who are not interested in keeping waists trim, but helping us live longer.' -The Herald
By:   Bas Kast
Imprint:   Scribe Publications
Country of Publication:   Australia
Dimensions:   Height: 234mm,  Width: 152mm,  Spine: 25mm
Weight:   380g
ISBN:   9781925849844
ISBN 10:   1925849848
Pages:   288
Publication Date:   07 January 2021
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Bas Kast was born in 1973, and studied psychology and biology in Constance, Bochum, and Boston. He works as a science journalist and author. His publications include I Do Not Know What I Want (2012), and And Suddenly CLICK! (2015).

See Also