Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

facebook
Google Book Preview
The Daughter's Tale
— —
Armando Lucas Correa
The Daughter's Tale by Armando Lucas Correa at Abbey's Bookshop,

The Daughter's Tale

Armando Lucas Correa


9781760851248

SIMON451


Fiction & Literature;
Historical fiction


Paperback

320 pages

$32.99
In stock
Ready to ship
order qty:  
Add this item to my basket

Based on the true story of the Nazi massacre of a French village in 1944, an unforgettable tale of love and redemption from the bestselling author of The German Girl.

New York City, 2015: Elise Duval, eighty years old, receives a phone call from a woman recently arrived from Cuba bearing messages from a time and country that she's long forgotten. A French Catholic who arrived in new York after World War II, Elise and her world are forever changed when the woman arrives with letters written to Elise from her mother in German during the war, unravelling more than seven decades of secrets.

Berlin, 1939: Bookstore owner and recent widow Amanda Sternberg is fleeing Nazi Germany with her two young daughters, heading towards unoccupied France. She arrives in Haute-Vienne with only one of her girls. Their freedom is short-lived and soon they are taken to a labour camp.

Inspired by one of the most shocking atrocities perpetrated by the Nazis during World War II, the 1944 massacre of all the inhabitants of the village of Oradour-Sur-Glane in the south of France, The Daughter's Tale is a beautifully crafted family saga of love, survival and hope against all odds.

`Breathtakingly threaded together from start to finish with the sound of a beating heart.' THE NEW YORK TIMES


More of the latest new releases

By:   Armando Lucas Correa
Imprint:   SIMON451
Country of Publication:   Australia
Dimensions:   Height: 234mm,  Width: 153mm, 
ISBN:   9781760851248
ISBN 10:   1760851248
Pages:   320
Publication Date:   June 2019
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Armando Lucas Correa is an award-winning journalist, editor, author, and the recipient of several awards from the National Association of Hispanic Publications and the Society of Professional Journalism. He is the author of the international bestseller The German Girl, which is now being published in thirteen languages. He lives in New York City with his partner and their three children. Visit ArmandoLucasCorrea.com.


THE DAUGHTER'S TALE is well researched and informed by actual historic events, stories that will vividly remind readers of the horrors of war. The book's scope is ambitious, but its emotional core is palpable and affecting. [...] the emotions underpinning their speeches seem genuine, and the love at the heart of this war-torn family will inspire readers' compassion as well. * Bookreporter.com * [A] gorgeous, heartbreaking historical novel [...] perfect for fans of Martha Hall Kelly's Lilac Girls - and is sure to be a favorite at book clubs. * BookBub * [A] detailed, immersive chronicle of World War II's tragedy, the power of love and the lengths to which a mother will go to save her children when there are no choices left. * BookPage * This must read' novel is spellbinding, bolstered by Correa's extensive research, visits to war sites in France and Germany and survivor interviews. It reveals a past many prefer forgetting - true, horrific stories that emerge from hate that we should really be retelling, repeatedly, so we continue to remember. * AUTHORLINK * [A] searing second novel. * PEOPLE * Correa offers a gripping and richly detailed account of lives torn apart by war. * Booklist * [The Daughter's Tale is] better written and more tightly edited than most books in this genre, and the story line is breathtakingly threaded together from start to finish with the sound of a beating heart. Or more to the point, the silence between the heartbeats. Correa's prose is atmospheric, but what's most fascinating about this novel is his portrayal of terrified yet strong female characters who anticipate future trials and methodically work through them. Amanda knows that each decision she makes will have an impact on the next, but her goal is always survival. * New York Times Book Review *

My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.