LOW FLAT RATE AUST-WIDE $9.90 DELIVERY INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

The Book of Doors

Gareth Brown

$34.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

English
Bantam
13 February 2024
These books are like weapons. And possession is power. . . With a perfect combination of dark magical books, unforgettable characters, and a storyline that grabs the reader and simply doesn't let go, this is the heart-stoppingly exciting contemporary fantasy debut of 2024.

'Joyful, exuberant, and crackling with adventure.' STUART TURTON

'A clever and beautiful novel about the power of books.' SUNYI DEAN

'Full of magic, wonder and heart.' ANITA FRANK

'A magical, mesmerising adventure from the very first page.' A. J. WEST

----------------------------------

Because some doors should never be opened.

New York bookseller Cassie Andrews is not sure what she's doing with her life. She lives quietly, sharing an apartment with her best friend, Izzy. Then a favourite customer gives her an old book. Full of strange writing and mysterious drawings, at the very front there is a handwritten message-

This is the Book of Doors. Hold it in your hand, and any door is every door.

Cassie is about to discover that the Book of Doors is a special book - a magic book. A book that bestows extraordinary abilities on whoever possesses it. And she is about to learn that there are other magic books out there that can also do wondrous - or dreadful and terrifying - things.

Because where there is magic there is power and there are those who will stop at nothing to possess it.

Suddenly Cassie and Izzy are confronted by violence and danger, and the only person who can help them is Drummond Fox who has a secret library of magical books hidden in the shadows for safekeeping, a man fleeing his own demons. Because there is a nameless evil out there that is hunting them all . . .

Because this book is worth killing for.

Addictive, brilliantly written and utterly irresistible, The Book of Doors is the spell-binding, mind-bending, heart-pounding new adventure that is perfect for fans of The Binding, The Midnight Library and A Discovery of Witches . . .

----------------------------------

'A stunning fever dream of a story.' LEE CHILD

'A beautiful, unputdownable love letter to books.' BETH LEWIS

'A real page-turner - incredibly ambitious and inventive.' ROSIE ANDREWS
By:  
Imprint:   Bantam
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 234mm,  Width: 156mm,  Spine: 30mm
Weight:   500g
ISBN:   9781787637252
ISBN 10:   1787637255
Pages:   416
Publication Date:  
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Born in Falkirk, Gareth Brown wanted to be a writer from a very young age. He wrote his first (unpublished) novel when in his teens and short stories while at university. For the last twenty years he has worked in the UK Civil Service and is currently Director of Screening for NHS Scotland. An inveterate traveller, he particularly relishes the experience of arriving somewhere new- those first few hours of culture shock and noise and bustle in an unfamiliar city - a passion that influenced the writing of The Book of Doors. Gareth Brown lives just outside Edinburgh.

Reviews for The Book of Doors

'A real page-turner - incredibly ambitious and inventive, The Book of Doors is a great read.' -- ROSIE ANDREWS, author of The Leviathan A brilliant page-turner - a clever and beautiful novel about the power of books, and a tribute to those who champion them. -- SUNYI DEAN, author of The Book Eaters The Book of Doors by Gareth Brown is so good! A brilliant concept executed with mind-blowing precision, this intricately plotted book is breathtakingly clever, cinematic in scope and full of magic, wonder and heart. -- ANITA FRANK, author of The Good Liars A magical, mesmerising adventure from the very first page. This is an extraordinary debut, rich with atmosphere. I think we've discovered something special. I dare you to step inside The Book of Doors, you won't want to leave. -- A. J. WEST, author of The Spirit Engineer The Book of Doors is a beautiful, unputdownable love letter to books and the power they hold in their pages. I loved it -- BETH LEWIS, author of The Wolf Road


See Also