SUMMER CATALOGUE OUT NOW: VIEW

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

The Black Swan of Paris

Karen Robards

$32.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

Hodder & Stoughton
30 June 2020
Fiction & Literature; Thriller & suspense; Second World War fiction; Historical fiction
A world at war. A beautiful young star. A mission no one expected.

'A truly outstanding novel, brilliantly written, that captured me and held me in its grip from page one. The Black Swan of Paris reminds us of the power of love, hope and courage' Heather Morris, #1 bestselling author of The Tattooist of Auschwitz Paris, 1944 Celebrated singer Genevieve Dumont is both a star and a smokescreen. An unwilling darling of the Nazis, her position of privilege allows her to go undetected as an ally to the resistance.

When her estranged mother, Lillian de Rocheford, is captured by Nazis, Genevieve is shaken. She knows it won't be long before the Gestapo succeeds in torturing information out of Lillian that will derail the upcoming allied invasion. The resistance movement is tasked with silencing her by any means necessary - including assassination.

But Genevieve refuses to let her mother become yet one more victim of the war. Reuniting with her long-lost sister, she must find a way to navigate the perilous cross-currents of Occupied France undetected - and in time to save Lillian's life.

For fans of Danielle Steele's The Spy, Jane Thynne's Black Roses and Heather Morris' The Tattooist of Auschwitz, this exquisite novel illuminates three women's strength, courage and capacity for unconditional love.

PRAISE FOR THE BLACK SWAN OF PARIS 'Emotional and powerful' Pam Jenoff, bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris 'Beautifully written and completely absorbing. ' Noelle Salazar, bestselling author of The Flight Girls 'An extraordinarily suspenseful, emotional read' Kelly Rimmer, bestselling author of The Things We Cannot Say Reader Reviews:

'Perfect! This novel was the first I've read by this author but I will definitely be reading more of her work. It was pacy, exciting, heart-breaking in places, with a truly believable romance sub-plot that was centred around characters I cared about.' 'A high octane read which is a real page turner and captures the heightened tension of the war perfectly. A brilliant read that I would recommend.' 'This is an excellent WWII historical fiction novel and it is for anyone that loves a good plot, suspense, and anyon
By:   Karen Robards
Imprint:   Hodder & Stoughton
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 234mm,  Width: 153mm, 
ISBN:   9781529338218
ISBN 10:   1529338212
Pages:   352
Publication Date:   30 June 2020
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Karen Robards is the internationally bestselling author of over fifty novels, which have regularly appeared on the New York Times, USA Today and Publishers Weekly bestseller lists, among others. She is the mother of three boys and lives with her family in her hometown of Louisville, Kentucky. You can find out more at www.karenrobards.com and on Facebook at www.facebook.com/AuthorKarenRobards or follow her on Twitter @TheKarenRobards.

Reviews for The Black Swan of Paris

A truly outstanding novel, brilliantly written, that captured me and held me in its grip from page one. At its heart this story is about family love and the umbilical cords that stretch but never break. So much can be learnt from the telling of this story of what is truly important whether we live in a privileged, safe environment or in a theatre of conflict. The Black Swan of Paris reminds us of the power of love, hope and courage - The Tattooist of Auschwitz Beautifully written and completely absorbing. Genevieve is a broken but determined heroine in disguise, fooling the terrifying enemies surrounding her as she is immersed in the ugly belly of the Nazi occupation. Tension, secrets, and loyalty drive this gorgeous book until the very last page and I was transfixed by each riveting moment - The Flight Girls Emotional and powerful - The Lost Girls of Paris An extraordinarily suspenseful, emotional read - The Things We Cannot Say


See Also