FREIGHT DELAYS IN AND OUT: MORE INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

The Berlin Shadow

Jonathan Lichtenstein

$32.99

Paperback

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?

QTY:

SIMON451
02 September 2020
Biography; Autobiography: literary; Memoirs; True stories of heroism, endurance & survival
A formally audacious and deeply moving memoir in three timeframes that confronts the defining trauma of the twentieth century, and its effects on a father and son.

In 1939, Jonathan Lichtenstein's father Hans escaped Nazi-occupied Berlin as a child refugee on the Kindertransport. Almost every member of his family died after Kristallnacht, and, arriving in England to make his way in the world alone, Hans turned his back on his German Jewish culture.

Growing up in post-war rural Wales where the conflict was never spoken of, Jonathan and his siblings were at a loss to understand their father's relentless drive and sometimes eccentric behaviour. As Hans enters old age, he and Jonathan set out to retrace his journey back to Berlin. Published to coincide with the eightieth anniversary, this is a highly compelling account of a father and son's attempt to emerge from the shadows of history.

For readers who enjoyed East West Street, The Berlin Shadow is a beautiful memoir about time, trauma and family.

Praise for Jonathan Lichtenstein's work:

'The writing is keenly observed and emotionally resonant. . . an impressive achievement given the breadth of its reach, from Berlin in the 1930s to Bethlehem today' New York Times on Memory
By:   Jonathan Lichtenstein
Imprint:   SIMON451
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Edition:   Export/Airside
Dimensions:   Height: 234mm,  Width: 153mm,  Spine: 20mm
ISBN:   9781471167287
ISBN 10:   1471167283
Pages:   320
Publication Date:   02 September 2020
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

See Also