DELIVERY AUSTRALIA-WIDE $9.90 (NSW/ACT $7.90) • EXPRESS POST • STORE PICK-UP INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

The Annual Migration of Clouds

Premee Mohamed

Double Rewards
$27.99

Paperback

Not in-store but you can order this
How long will it take?

QTY:

ECW Press
01 October 2021
Double Reward Points
More info

A teen infected with a mysterious parasite must choose whether to pursue a rare opportunity far from home - or stay and help rebuild her community. A moving hopepunk story filled with incredible world-building and character relationships in a dystopian, distant future In post-climate disaster Alberta, a woman infected with a mysterious parasite must choose whether to pursue a rare opportunity far from home or stay and help rebuild her community The world is nothing like it once was: climate disasters have wracked the continent, causing food shortages, ending industry, and leaving little behind. Then came Cad, mysterious mind-altering fungi that invade the bodies of the now scattered citizenry. Reid, a young woman who carries this parasite, has been given a chance to get away - to move to one of the last remnants of pre-disaster society - but she can't bring herself to abandon her mother and the community that relies on her. When she's offered a coveted place on a dangerous and profitable mission, she jumps at the opportunity to set her family up for life, but how can Reid ask people to put their trust in her when she can't even trust her own mind?

With keen insight and biting prose, Premee Mohamed delivers a deeply personal tale in this post-apocalyptic hopepunk novella that reflects on the meaning of community and asks what we owe to those who have lifted us up. In post-climate disaster Alberta, a teen infected with a mysterious parasite must choose whether to pursue a rare opportunity far from home or stay and help rebuild her community.

'In gorgeous prose, Mohamed (Beneath the Rising) conjures a post-climate apocalypse future . . . Mohamed grounds her complex, chilling vision of the future in accessible human drama, keeping a tight focus on Reid's difficult decision and the tension it creates in her relationships. It's an impressive feat of worldbuilding made stronger by the sensitive, nuanced characters and urgent questions about what people owe to each other. This packs a punch.' - Publishers Weekly 'One of the most unique and engaging voices in genre fiction...

Science-fiction and horror readers alike will enjoy Mohamed's novel, which will appeal to fans of Jeff VanderMeer, Kameron Hurley, and Tochi Onyebuchi.' - Booklist
By:   Premee Mohamed
Imprint:   ECW Press
Country of Publication:   Canada
Dimensions:   Height: 203mm,  Width: 127mm, 
ISBN:   9781770415935
ISBN 10:   1770415939
Pages:   170
Publication Date:   01 October 2021
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Premee Mohamed is an Indo-Caribbean scientist and speculative fiction author based in Edmonton, Alberta. Her short fiction has appeared in a number of venues. Her debut novel, Beneath the Rising, is out now from Solaris Books, with the sequel A Broken Darkness due out in 2021.

Reviews for The Annual Migration of Clouds

Through Mohamed's breathtaking prose, this post-apocalyptic story unravels meditations on community building, adaptation, and collective survival ... In this rich and nuanced universe, Mohamed offers an emotionally fierce and human story that takes the time and space to personalize apocalypse. -- Quill & Quire, starred review One of the most unique and engaging voices in genre fiction ... Science-fiction and horror readers alike will enjoy Mohamed's novel, which will appeal to fans of Jeff VanderMeer, Kameron Hurley, and Tochi Onyebuchi. -- Booklist A dark, strange tale of the future that elegantly balances existential horror against necessary hope. Premee Mohamed is astonishingly good, and if we're lucky, will be writing books for us for a good long time. -- Chuck Wendig, New York Times-bestselling author In gorgeous prose, Mohamed (Beneath the Rising) conjures a post-climate apocalypse future ... Mohamed grounds her complex, chilling vision of the future in accessible human drama, keeping a tight focus on Reid's difficult decision and the tension it creates in her relationships. It's an impressive feat of worldbuilding made stronger by the sensitive, nuanced characters and urgent questions about what people owe to each other. This packs a punch. -- Publishers Weekly Premee Mohamed's graceful storytelling transports us to a future that is both brilliantly imagined and utterly believable. I devoured this gorgeous gift of a novella, and it will stay with me. -- Kate Heartfield, award-winning author of Armed in Her Fashion and Alice Payne Arrives


See Also