OUR ONLINE STORE IS OPEN, but... MORE INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

Templar Silks

Elizabeth Chadwick

$22.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

Little Brown
12 March 2019
Fiction & Literature; Historical adventure; Historical romance; Historical fiction
To save his soul William Marshal takes the perilous road to Jerusalem, but the greatest danger he faces there is losing his heart.

England, 1219 Lying on his deathbed, William Marshal, England's greatest knight, sends a trusted servant to bring to him the silk Templar burial shrouds that returned with him from the Holy Land thirty years ago. It is time to fulfil his vow to the Templars and become a monk of their order for eternity.

As he waits for the shrouds' return, he looks back upon his long-ago pilgrimage with his brother Ancel, and the sacred mission entrusted to them - to bear the cloak of their dead young lord to Jerusalem and lay it on Christ's tomb in the church of the Holy Sepulchre.

Jerusalem, 1183 In the holiest of all cities, the brothers become embroiled in the deadly politics, devious scheming and lusts of the powerful men and women who rule the kingdom. Entangled with the dangerous, mercurial Paschia de Riveri, concubine of the highest churchman in the land, William sets on a path so perilous that there seems no way back for him, or for his brother. Both will pay a terrible price and their only chance to see home again will be dependent on the Templar shrouds.

In this glorious adventure, bestselling author Elizabeth Chadwick sweeps the reader to medieval Jerusalem in a story perfect for fans of Ken Follett and Philippa Gregory.
By:   Elizabeth Chadwick
Imprint:   Little Brown
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 196mm,  Width: 126mm,  Spine: 38mm
Weight:   339g
ISBN:   9780751564969
ISBN 10:   0751564966
Series:   William Marshal
Pages:   496
Publication Date:   12 March 2019
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Much of Elizabeth Chadwick's research is carried out as a member of Regia Anglorum, an early mediaeval re-enactment society with emphasis on accurately re-creating the past. She also tutors in the skill of writing historial and romantic fiction. She won a Betty Trask Award for The Wild Hunt and has been shortlisted for the RNA Awards four times.

Reviews for Templar Silks

A riveting read. Meticulously researched with a powerful storyline, this is a glorious adventure not to be missed! * Candis * Picking up an Elizabeth Chadwick novel, you know you are in for a sumptuous ride * Daily Telegraph * A rich and compelling read * Candis * Engrossingly written and well-researched * Choice * Meticulous research and strong storytelling * Woman & Home * Enjoyable and sensuous * Daily Mail * One of Elizabeth Chadwick's strengths is her stunning grasp of historical details... Her characters are beguiling and the story is intriguing and very enjoyable -- Barbara Erskine Chadwick's research is impeccable, her characters fully formed and her storytelling enthralling * Historical Novel Review * I rank Elizabeth Chadwick with such historical stars as Dorothy Dunnett and Anya Seton -- Sharon Kay Penman An author who makes history come gloriously alive * The Times *


See Also