Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

Stranger Shores

Essays 1986-1999

J. M. Coetzee



In stock
Ready to ship


Text Publishing Company
30 March 2021
The first of three volumes featuring Nobel Prize winner J. M. Coetzee's essays on some of the world's most celebrated writers.

Stranger Shores is the first of three collections of literary criticism by J. M. Coetzee to be republished by Text. It includes essays on Dostoevsky and Kafka, A. S. Byatt and Doris Lessing. These are concise, accessible introductions to some of the world's greatest writers, by a contemporary master.
By:   J. M. Coetzee
Imprint:   Text Publishing Company
Country of Publication:   Australia
Dimensions:   Height: 197mm,  Width: 128mm,  Spine: 31mm
Weight:   276g
ISBN:   9781922330420
ISBN 10:   1922330426
Pages:   352
Publication Date:   30 March 2021
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

J. M. Coetzee was the first author to win the Booker Prize twice and was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 2003. His work includes Waiting for the Barbarians, Life & Times of Michael K, The Master of Petersburg, Disgrace and Diary of a Bad Year. His most recent writing is a trilogy of novels: The Childhood of Jesus, The Schooldays of Jesus and The Death of Jesus. He lives in Adelaide.

Reviews for Stranger Shores: Essays 1986-1999

'A major force in contemporary writing. A master, in fact.' -- Sunday Star Times (NZ) 'For all the sharpness and sorrow of Coetzee's writing, there is something grandly calming about his style: his sentences seem to give off light, and not in a hard dazzle, but in the glow of a child's night-light.' -- Age 'Freed from literary convention, Mr Coetzee writes not to provide answers, but to ask great questions.' -- Economist

See Also