FREIGHT DELAYS IN AND OUT: MORE INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

Spirited

Julie Cohen

$32.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

Orion
14 July 2020
Fiction & Literature; Historical romance; Historical fiction
Three women carry unspeakable truths in their heart. At what cost will they find their freedom?

In Victorian England, Viola is an amateur photographer struggling with the grief of her father's death and the sterile atmosphere of her marriage to her childhood friend, Jonah. When she discovers a talent for capturing ghostly images on camera, Viola comes to the attention of a spirit medium, and a powerful attraction between the two women is sparked... As each woman puts herself at risk, secrets are brought to light that will change their lives forever.

Driven by passionate, courageous female characters, and exploring themes of sexuality, gender and prejudice, SPIRITED is your next unforgettable read. Perfect for fans of The Binding, The Familiars, and Once Upon a River.

******** Praise for Julie Cohen's storytelling:

'Not often does a story remind us of what beautifully complex creatures we are. Julie Cohen has given us that rare gift' Christina Dalcher, author of VOX 'Moving and beautiful' Joanna Cannon 'Elegant, thoughtful and powerful' Daisy Buchanan 'One of the most beautiful and heartbreaking stories I've read' Emma Flint 'Original, poignant and beautifully told' S Magazine
By:   Julie Cohen
Imprint:   Orion
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 232mm,  Width: 154mm,  Spine: 30mm
Weight:   420g
ISBN:   9781409179887
ISBN 10:   1409179885
Pages:   352
Publication Date:   14 July 2020
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Julie Cohen grew up in the western mountains of Maine. Her house was just up the hill from the library and she spent many hours walking back and forth, her nose in a book. She studied English Literature at Brown University and Cambridge University and is a popular speaker and teacher of creative writing, including classes for the Guardian and Literature Wales. Her books have been translated into fifteen languages and have sold over a million copies; DEAR THING and TOGETHER were Richard and Judy Book Club picks. Julie lives in Berkshire with her husband, son and a terrier of dubious origin. You can find Julie on Twitter: @julie_cohen or you can visit her website: www.julie-cohen.com.

Reviews for Spirited

A thrilling, spooky tale that has all the ingredients of a bestseller. * CAMBRIDGE INDEPENDENT * This haunting story about the power of love will give you shivers. * BEST * Simmering with passions, it is a testament to the enduring power of love * SUNDAY MIRROR * Wonderfully written and evocative * WOMAN & HOME * A tender and haunting tale, this is a slow-burn read which sparks into flame, as passion kindles in the hearts of her beautifully realised characters. * DAILY MAIL *


See Also