DELIVERY AUSTRALIA-WIDE $9.90 (NSW/ACT $7.90) • EXPRESS POST • STORE PICK-UP INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

From the author of The Disasters, this genre-bending YA fantasy heist story is perfect for fans of Marie Lu and Amie Kaufman.

In Kyrkarta, magic-known as maz-was once a freely available natural resource. Then an earthquake released a magical plague, killing thousands and opening the door for a greedy corporation to make maz a commodity that's tightly controlled-and, of course, outrageously expensive.

Which is why Diz and her three best friends run a highly lucrative, highly illegal maz siphoning gig on the side. Their next job is supposed to be their last heist ever.

But when their plan turns up a powerful new strain of maz that (literally) blows up in their faces, they're driven to unravel a conspiracy at the very center of the spellplague-and possibly save the world.

No pressure.
By:   M. K. England
Imprint:   HARPERTEEN
Country of Publication:   United States
Dimensions:   Height: 203mm,  Width: 135mm,  Spine: 23mm
Weight:   296g
ISBN:   9780062657718
ISBN 10:   0062657712
Pages:   416
Publication Date:   28 July 2021
Audience:   Young adult ,  Preschool (0-5)
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

M.K. England is an author and YA librarian living in the mountainy parts of Virginia. When she's not writing or librarianing, M.K. can be found drowning in fandom, going to conventions, rolling dice at the gaming table, climbing on things in the woods, or feeding her video game addiction. She loves Star Wars with a desperate, heedless passion. It's best if you never speak of Sherlock Holmes in her presence. You'll regret it. The Disasters is her debut novel. Follow her at www.mkengland.com.

Reviews for Spellhacker

A humorous mix of SF and fantasy with a diverse cast of strong personalities ... [and] action that carries on right to the end. -- <em>Booklist</em> Joyfully queer. Buckle in for this high-speed, bighearted sci-fi/fantasy adventure. -- <em>Kirkus Reviews</em> A bold and futuristic thrill ride with a dazzling blend of magic, mayhem, friendship, and heart. -- Jess Rothenberg, author of <em>The Kingdom</em> Fresh, inventive fun. -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books Praise for The Disasters: This laugh-out-loud sci-fi action-adventure will leave readers wanting more. -- School Library Journal Much to recommend: nonstop cinematic action, strong feminist messages, and great diversity of characters. -- ALA Booklist If humankind requires saving, then this is the crew to do it. -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books An action-packed, entertaining blend of space hijinks, humor, and romance. -- <em>Kirkus Reviews</em> An explosion of edge-of-your-seat twists and high-stakes danger that leaves you glued to the page and rooting for these lovable misfits. I wanted a snarky romp across the galaxy, and M.K. England delivered with the force of a supernova. -- Ashley Poston, author of <em>Geekerella </em>and <em>Heart of Iron</em> A clever, cosmic thrill ride packed with nonstop action and starring a motley crew that won me over from page one. Just too much fun! -- Mackenzi Lee, <em>New York Times</em> bestselling author of <em>A Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue</em> Wildly entertaining and crackling with chemistry. Nax and his crew will crash land in your heart and leave you filled with laughter and hope. -- Kerri Maniscalco, #1 <em>New York Times</em> bestselling author of <em>Escaping from Houdini</em> A BLAST from start to finish! Absurd levels of fun, fantastic pacing, and lovable authentic characters bring this rollicking adventure to life. Looking for a book you can't put down? Pick up The Disasters. Mission accomplished. -- Katherine Locke, author of <em>The Girl with the Red Balloon</em> (2018 Sydney Taylor Honor Book)


See Also